Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 12:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Share |
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


I have an already existing attic fan installed that is dead. Eventually I will replace it. But for now I want use the already pulled power and use that for a new junction box for a gfi and light switch. I want to add the gfi and a light in the attic. Below are three pics of what I have to work with. Pic one is the junction box where the power is coming from (back). Pic 2 is the other side of that box where a light fixture is. You can see that there is a ground wire attached to the box However that ground is in the romex line that was used to power the fan. And pic 3 is the thermostat box the romex was pulled to for the fan....

My question is as follows: is that romex actually grounded? Because I don't see anything grounding that junction box for it to simply be grounded by screwing into the box?

Obviously I need a ground source for the new work I want to install. So I wanted to check here first to see if this was an ok ground source to be using?



Name:  image-2559726433.jpg
Views: 92
Size:  50.5 KB

Back of box. Romex out is the power source for the fan



Name:  image-1300879694.jpg
Views: 77
Size:  37.6 KB

Front of box. That bare copper ground screwed in is the romex. Which on the other end was screwed in to the thermostat box for the fan which u can see in pic 3



Name:  image-2534311515.jpg
Views: 88
Size:  34.1 KB

Thermostat for fan with romex coming in and the other side of that ground wire. Screwed in.

Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


If the wire is ac cable (bx) the the grounding looks fine but I would check it with a tester to make sure

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 01:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


What kind of screw is that connecting the ground in the 2nd picture?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:05 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 15
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


Completely agree with Julius793 - it looks like it should be fine as the ground chains through, but you'll never know until you test it.
DIYWorker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


New question..... How do you connect these wires to have them fit in this connector piece. Pig ails too big.

I had to connect two different flex to pull enough to a socket for a tv.



Name:  image-774756493.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  43.4 KB

I need left side to power up and connect to the right flex.
Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:27 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,506
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


You cannot splice in a coupling. You need to use a box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


then why would the idiot electrical store guy sell me this and tell me to use this when i told him i have two pieces of flex that need to be connected?
Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 08:20 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenie View Post
then why would the idiot electrical store guy sell me this and tell me to use this when i told him i have two pieces of flex that need to be connected?
Right there!
That is two different sizes of wire.
All connections have to be made in an accessible junction box.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan

Right there!
That is two different sizes of wire.
All connections have to be made in an accessible junction box.
Same size wire. It's the same flex just cut too short so had to add more wire to reach the junction box.
Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 12:26 AM   #10
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenie
then why would the idiot electrical store guy sell me this and tell me to use this when i told him i have two pieces of flex that need to be connected?
Because he's not an electrician they don't know bettter. Btw this cable is called mc metal clad. And the outer jacket may not be used as a ground as opposed to ac cable.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:16 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


That is not the same size wire!!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:08 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 107
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan
That is not the same size wire!!!
Lol I totally appreciate the fact that you are 1000% more knowledgable then I am in all aspects of electrical and most other home DIY improvement..... But I do have to tell you I cut the 20' flex cable I personally purchased with the blue red green white and black wire already In it....I cut it too short so I had to reconnect the wires and extend it further. If that is in fact the case.... How can it not be the same size wire??? ;-)
Greenie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:19 AM   #13
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenie

Lol I totally appreciate the fact that you are 1000% more knowledgable then I am in all aspects of electrical and most other home DIY improvement..... But I do have to tell you I cut the 20' flex cable I personally purchased with the blue red green white and black wire already In it....I cut it too short so I had to reconnect the wires and extend it further. If that is in fact the case.... How can it not be the same size wire??? ;-)
Is there a red wire on both sides?
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:41 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 997
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


I've been waiting for someone to comment on that round metal connector. Is that an electrical item and what is it used for?
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:53 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,736
Default

Adding new gfi and light switch


The round thing is a screw on connector to join two pieces of pipe.

Why did you buy mc cable with red, blue, blacke, white and green, when all you needed was black, white, and green?

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
zappa (01-18-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.