Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2009, 10:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Adding new circuit for recessed lights....


Hello all,

I recently installed 6 recessed light fixtures in my dining room and am ready to wire them up now. I know my fair share about electricity and wiring, but on airplanes not houses! So here is my situation:

I want to install a 15 amp breaker for this set of lights actuated with a single dimmer switch. I intend to start the circuit at the switch and not the lights. So here are my questions:

1. What do I need to run from the breaker to the switch, 12AWG or 14AWG? And should it be /2 or /3, or does it matter either way. I know you typically would run 12# for a 20A and 14# for a 15A.

2. And what should be run from the switch to the first light in the series, 12/2, 12/3, 14/2 or 14/3?

3. And from the first light to the other 5 lights should probably be 14/3 right?

Thanks for any ideas, I appreciate the help.
DickieFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 10:16 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Adding new circuit for recessed lights....


For six lights on their own circuit, you only need 14/2 for everything. Put it on a 15 Amp breaker.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 10:29 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Adding new circuit for recessed lights....


Thanks kbsparky, that sounds great and makes everything easy. So nothing special to do huh, just 14/2 for it all.
DickieFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 10:40 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Adding new circuit for recessed lights....


Come to find out, I already have a 200 ft roll of 12/2. Can I go ahead and run it all on the 12/2 and use a 20A breaker? I mean, I don't see why not, it also leaves me plenty of capability to add to the circuit later if I want.

Last edited by DickieFL; 11-21-2009 at 12:31 PM.
DickieFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 01:27 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,067
Default

Adding new circuit for recessed lights....


Yes you can use the #12. It will just be oversized for your actual need.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 02:05 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,130
Default

Adding new circuit for recessed lights....


If you are in Canada it has to be a 15A circuit, no 20A circuits for lighting.

I'm not sure what type of fixture you have but if it is a dimmable fluroscent you may need a 3 wire feed to the first light and 3 wires in between each light. Take a look at your instructions before running all the wire.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 05:44 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Adding new circuit for recessed lights....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Yes you can use the #12. It will just be oversized for your actual need.

Good deal.

Ran the feeder wire from the breaker to the switch and ran the wire from the switch to the first can. I am now going to go wire up the rest of the lights.

Just to make sure though. From the switch to the cans, everything is straight color to color correct? wht to wht, blk to blk and gnd to grn
DickieFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 08:12 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Adding new circuit for recessed lights....


All done, works like a champ! So nice to finally have recessed lights, No more lamps!!! And the dimmer is just the icing on the cake.

Thanks for the replies, its much appreciated.
DickieFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
circuit, recessed


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a Circuit -- Need To Route Outdoors rmorgan1016 Electrical 17 07-09-2009 07:10 AM
Recessed lights on one circuit Dean1234 Electrical 7 10-31-2008 12:45 PM
Adding onto a switched controlled circuit Sparky08 Electrical 1 06-27-2008 05:43 AM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM
Adding a new circuit breaker ksl420 Electrical 9 05-23-2006 10:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.