Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2011, 02:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Adding my own GFCI into an extension cord question????


I'm adding a 4 plug GFCI into an extension cord. What I purchased is a regular GFCI plug and a regular outlet. I know the correct way of hooking this from....

http://www.wireityourself.com/gfci_e...al_outlet.html

However, the way mine is made, I can only get one black load wire from the GFCI outlet to the regular outlet. The white load wire from the GFCI will not connect to the regular outlet because the way it's made. Instead the regular outlet will get the white wire directly from the extension cord.

I'm sure the GFCI outlet is working and protecting, however is the regular outlet still protecting me since only one wire is passing through the GFCI outlet?


Last edited by stanlam; 07-17-2011 at 12:02 AM.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:46 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding my own GFCI into an extension cord question????


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanlam View Post
I'm adding a 4 plug GFCI into an extension cord. What I purchased is a regular GFCI plug and a regular outlet. I totally understand how to hook this up correctly.......the Line and the Load from the GFCI outlet needs to go to the Line and Load on the regular outlet. However, the way this is made, I can only get one wire (either the Line or the Load) from the GFCI to the regular out. The other wire will go directly from the extension cord into the regular outlet without ever passing through the GFCI.

I'm sure the GFCI outlet is working and protecting, however is the regular outlet still protecting me since only one wire is passing through the GFCI outlet?
There is not line/load on a regular recep. The cord conductors go to the line side of the GFCI. Conductors from the load side if the GFCI are connected to the standard recep. But of course you TOTALLY understand how to wire this correctly.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:50 PM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding my own GFCI into an extension cord question????


A "regular outlet" does not have a "line and load". You need to connect the black and white from the cord to the appropriate line connections on the GFCI and connect the "regular receptacle" to the load connections of the GFCI. And I hope what you are doing is adding a short piece of SOO cord to these items in an approved box with a plug on the other end. You should NOT be cutting the end off an extension cord and adding this.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding my own GFCI into an extension cord question????


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
There is not line/load on a regular recep. The cord conductors go to the line side of the GFCI. Conductors from the load side if the GFCI are connected to the standard recep. But of course you TOTALLY understand how to wire this correctly.
I rewrote it. Sorry.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:30 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding my own GFCI into an extension cord question????


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
A "regular outlet" does not have a "line and load". You need to connect the black and white from the cord to the appropriate line connections on the GFCI and connect the "regular receptacle" to the load connections of the GFCI. And I hope what you are doing is adding a short piece of SOO cord to these items in an approved box with a plug on the other end. You should NOT be cutting the end off an extension cord and adding this.
So is the regular outlet protecting also?
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 07:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Adding my own GFCI into an extension cord question????


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanlam View Post
So is the regular outlet protecting also?
Everything connected to the LINE terminals is protected.

The LINE terminals are merely extensions of the GFCI receptacle female terminals.

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wildie For This Useful Post:
stanlam (07-15-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permanent wire vs. extension cord Piedmont Electrical 7 05-04-2011 04:32 PM
DC power cord question Wims2205 Electrical 13 06-29-2010 10:00 PM
Getting shocked by multiple metal items in room thms Electrical 14 06-24-2010 01:23 PM
Garage Door Extension Spring Question kmc143 Building & Construction 4 02-23-2010 08:24 AM
Extension Cord Question. camoram Electrical 2 04-08-2006 09:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.