Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2011, 08:58 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


I have a 20amp circuit that has 16 60 watt lights, 2 outlets (in bedroom), 1/2 hp garage door opener. I want to replace 1 of the 60 watt lights with 4 4í 40 watt 2 bulb T12 Fluorescent fixtures. I think Iím ok with the load but want to confirm Iím correct.

russ960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:21 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


20A = 2,400W.

Your lights would use up:

15 x 60 = 900
4 x 40 = 160 (or 320 if the T12s are 40w each)
Total: 1060 (or 1220) Watts


This leaves you with just over 1300W (1140) to run both of those outlets and your garage opener, and that is running that circuit to 100%. Run another (dedicated) to that opener.

Also = 16 60w bulbs...is this one bedroom?!

__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 02-18-2011 at 09:24 AM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:29 AM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


20a circuit x 120 volts = 2400 Watts.

Take all Items and calculate their wattage then add them together, and as long as its less than the max circuit rating your ok. Mind it is not a good idea to run at near max capacity.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:01 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
20A = 2,400W.

Your lights would use up:

15 x 60 = 900
4 x 40 = 160 (or 320 if the T12s are 40w each)
Total: 1060 (or 1220) Watts


This leaves you with just over 1300W (1140) to run both of those outlets and your garage opener, and that is running that circuit to 100%. Run another (dedicated) to that opener.

Also = 16 60w bulbs...is this one bedroom?!
So the lowes website indicates the T12 are 40W for the fixture. The outlets currently are only used at night but long term you never know right. I think the peak on the garage door is 1000w. How much is reasonable to have another 20a circuit pulled to the garage that I can dedicate to the lighting and wood working tools?

The 16 60w are on a 2 bulb strips in the bathroom.
russ960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:04 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


Not sure if this changes the situation but I noticed that they are 16 40W bulbs. oops.
russ960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:27 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


You base the load on the max wattage the fixture can use.
If you have 16 fixtures that can take a max of 75 watts, that is the figure you need to use.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:33 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ridgewood NJ
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


Lights should not be on the same circuit from where I come from garage door opener receptacles should have their own line and is part of the garage they should be on a GFI
SPINA ELECTRIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 09:53 AM   #8
Electrician Canadian Eh!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


A Red flag went up for me!!!

It should be a 15 Amp circuit not a 20Amp that is feeding general plugs and lights in the house.
If you open up a box in that circuit(or open the panel), do you see 14 awg wire or 12 awg wire associated with that circuit?

I believe the circuit could be overfused to provide for the overloading.
This is not safe!!!!
hhuggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 09:54 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by hhuggles View Post
A Red flag went up for me!!!

It should be a 15 Amp circuit not a 20Amp that is feeding general plugs and lights in the house.If you open up a box in that circuit(or open the panel), do you see 14 awg wire or 12 awg wire associated with that circuit?

I believe the circuit could be overfused to provide for the overloading.
This is not safe!!!!
Why?
You can have general use receptacles on a 20 amp breaker.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 11:03 AM   #10
Electrician Canadian Eh!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


We have 20A plugs and circuits here in Canada too!
We can even upsize the whole circuit to 20A for lighting provided they are all the same type.
We can not combine lights and plugs on the same circuit AND upsize the circuit to a 20A circuit.

I am pointing out potential hazzards based on all the CRAZY stuff I have seen done by those with a "little" knowledge and a "LOT" of confidence.

Here in Canada, the Electrical Inspectors LOVE handing out $25,000 fines to those who do not have brain cells and do electrical work.

Is it more relaxed in Georgia? Maybe I should give up living in my igloo.
hhuggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 01:18 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


We don't have the restrictions you have as far as lights on a 20 amp circuit, or lights sharing receptacles.
We also do not have to have 20 amp receptacles on 20 amp circuit, unless a single receptacle.

I'm sure we all have seen some crazy stuff, done by HO, Hacks, and Pros.

I didn't see your profile before, so that is why I questioned your thought process.
Keep the igloo, you wouldn't look good in overalls!!!!!!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 07:48 AM   #12
Electrician Canadian Eh!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto,Canada
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding lights on the same circuit as garage door opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Keep the igloo, you wouldn't look good in overalls!!!!!!!
You got that right, I don't look good in overalls!!

It would be interesting to see just how much difference there is between the code books.
The funny thing is the fact I can work anywhere in Canada except Quebec because their codes are even more restricted then the rest of Canada.

Russ - As there seems to be some difference in local codes , what area are you in?
And have you taken a look in a box or two to see the wire size being used in the circuit?
One thing should be a constant, a 14 AWG wire can't be safely protected on a 20Amp circuit.

hhuggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
145-150 volts in my garage light circuit. Why? Fulg Electrical 6 11-05-2010 07:15 PM
how many lights in a circuit as per code pedrito Electrical 10 10-03-2010 12:25 AM
Can I use lights and outlets on same circuit? heyd Electrical 4 08-24-2010 12:05 PM
Adding lights with 12-2 vs 14-2 mopowers Electrical 3 03-14-2010 11:29 AM
Should Ceiling lights be on separate circuit? handyoldgal Electrical 29 03-18-2009 08:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.