Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2012, 12:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Adding a light to a four way


I've attached a picture of what I have going on(I think that's where the power is coming in and I think that's where the light is connected in the upstairs. So switch 1,2, and 3 control one light on my deck. (Switch 3 is in the basement).
--- switch 4 is in the basement and controls flood lights under the deck. What I want to do is somehow connect the lights from switch 4 to run with switch 3- which in turn would work with switches 1 and 2. Any help would be great!!! I looked at wireless switch controls but I think they are IR controlled and wouldn't be able to transmit a signal through the floor boards.

(I really don't want to have to rip down drywall)
Attached Thumbnails
Adding a light to a four way-image.jpg  

Last edited by awakin; 11-09-2012 at 01:23 PM.
awakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 02:31 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,204
Default

Adding a light to a four way


To make this work you need to find the box where the above light is connected and move the below deck lights feed cable to that connection box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 03:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Adding a light to a four way


How do I figure out witch box has the light connected to it? It's obviously switch 1 or 2.
awakin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:28 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,204
Default

Adding a light to a four way


You need to open the boxes and try to investigate and trace the cables.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Default

Adding a light to a four way


if the power feeds to switch 3 in the basement the lights should go to the box with the other 3 way switch.

i would check the switch closest to the light upstairs between 1 and 2 first.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4 way, add a light, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confusion with track light stephenbishop Electrical 7 03-10-2012 01:37 PM
Adding new gfi and light switch Greenie Electrical 16 01-18-2012 02:42 PM
Adding a light between a light switch and the receptacle it controls jej2csi Electrical 3 11-24-2010 07:06 AM
adding light confused MICHIGAN616 Electrical 2 01-20-2010 09:18 AM
Adding a light to an existing 3-way connection nthomp16 Electrical 2 07-21-2008 06:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.