Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 05:17 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Adding a light fixture wiring question


Welp...installed the light. Did a white and black pigtail in the outlet box, wire nutted the white in the switch box, and the black load line to the off (bottom) and light black line to the top of the switch. Light turns on PERFECTLY!

Thanks for all your help! Just need to get some romex staples to finish it to the wall.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding a light fixture wiring question-electric5.jpg  

draconius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:54 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Adding a light fixture wiring question


Although functional it looks bush-league. You should of done the combination outlet/switch in the same box. A 4" square box and a combo cover is about $3.00 for both.

That romex should be protected...the vertical drops should be inside EMT.

Glad it works at least you learned something.

Also clean the lint/saw dust out of the handy box with the receptacle. In post #9 looks like good tinder at the bottom of that box

Last edited by hammerlane; 03-02-2013 at 06:48 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 10:21 PM   #18
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,456
Default

Adding a light fixture wiring question


What is wrong with the cable going into the receptacle box? It looks burnt.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 05:50 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Adding a light fixture wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
What is wrong with the cable going into the receptacle box? It looks burnt.
looks like electrical tape...but why? Someone cut the sheathing too short??
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 07:24 AM   #20
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,456
Default

Adding a light fixture wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
looks like electrical tape...but why? Someone cut the sheathing too short??
I think you are correct. I see what appears a mark on the cable where it was previously clamped. Looks like they moved the box down and didn't have enough cable in the box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 10:56 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Adding a light fixture wiring question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Although functional it looks bush-league. You should of done the combination outlet/switch in the same box. A 4" square box and a combo cover is about $3.00 for both.

That romex should be protected...the vertical drops should be inside EMT.

Glad it works at least you learned something.

Also clean the lint/saw dust out of the handy box with the receptacle. In post #9 looks like good tinder at the bottom of that box
The box was cleaned out completely. I plan on fixing all the electrical in the garage in the extreme near future. I needed a quick light switch for the tool area. once I run elec for the laundry area, I will be sheathing everything, rerunning a LOT of the wires, and following code.

Thank you for the assistance with everything!


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I think you are correct. I see what appears a mark on the cable where it was previously clamped. Looks like they moved the box down and didn't have enough cable in the box.
You are correct. The previous owner (original owner) did some VERY interesting things with concrete and even electrical...he used white romex for outside! I need to get electricity to the back yard, so that is one of the next large electrical projects...also wouldn't mind upgrading to a 300amp box due to all the tools I have surmounted in the garage due to all the projects with a new home.

draconius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confusion with track light stephenbishop Electrical 7 03-10-2012 01:37 PM
Wiring up an overhead flourescent light fixture J S Machine Electrical 13 06-03-2011 04:00 PM
Mercury Vapor Light Fixture Wiring Hoppy084 Electrical 4 06-24-2010 11:38 PM
Help with Light Fixture - Braided Romex, possible Arc, is wiring safe? cntnick Electrical 5 03-17-2010 11:22 AM
My light fixture / socket question. Getson Electrical 13 02-25-2009 03:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.