Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 11:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Adding Light to Existing Circuit


I am wanting to add another outside garage light to my house. My question is can I splice off the existing outside garage light? I have included a diagram to help with my question. The red highlight is where I am wanting to splice. I am assuming that I can simply splice into the existing light with wire nuts? Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: bmp Light Diagram.bmp (48.2 KB, 572 views)

NEWJACK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 12:05 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,683
Default

Adding Light to Existing Circuit


Thats how it is done.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 12:09 PM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,617
Default

Adding Light to Existing Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by NEWJACK
I am wanting to add another outside garage light to my house. My question is can I splice off the existing outside garage light? I have included a diagram to help with my question. The red highlight is where I am wanting to splice. I am assuming that I can simply splice into the existing light with wire nuts? Thanks
No problem as long as the box is big enough for the conductor fill.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding New circuit from existing eric0507 Electrical 2 04-28-2012 08:25 PM
3 way switch adding an add'l light GRed Electrical 2 12-15-2011 04:24 PM
Adding outlets to existing 15A lighting circuit rstain Electrical 3 12-03-2011 10:30 AM
Helping adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit. McSooner Electrical 4 12-03-2010 09:54 AM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.