Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2008, 09:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit


I have a switch at the top and bottom of a stairway with the light at the bottom. I have mounted a light at the top of the stairway and ran wire from the switch at the top of the stairs to the new light. I can not get the light I have added to work off the exisiting wires in the upper switch box. It appears that there is no neutral wire there.

Please advise...thanks, Randy

rlferdig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 10:15 AM   #2
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by rlferdig View Post
It appears that there is no neutral wire there.
Appears? If no neutral exists, you'll have to get one (from the existing lighting circuit) to the new light. Whatever you do, DO NOT cheat and try to use the bare ground (assuming that this is romex) for this purpose. If your house has pipe, you can more than likely pull another conductor through the existing conduit.

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 11:44 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit


Hi Jimmy-
Thanks for responding. There is a switch for the kitchen on the backside of the switch I am attaching the light to. I would like to jumper off that neutral. Does that sound okay?

Let me know...thanks for your help, regards, Randy
rlferdig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 12:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by rlferdig View Post
Hi Jimmy-
Thanks for responding. There is a switch for the kitchen on the backside of the switch I am attaching the light to. I would like to jumper off that neutral. Does that sound okay?

Let me know...thanks for your help, regards, Randy
This would be a big no-no! The hot and neutral wires for a particular circuit must stay in the same race-way (or in this case romex/NM). You would have to wire from the light at the bottom of the stairs to get the neutral and hot wires. I am assuming you only have a black, red, white and bare ground in the switch box at the top of the stairs? Most stairways that go from a ground level to a basement level and has no 3rd level can be accessed from the attic (since usually the space above a stairway is largely un-useable). Id try and see if you can route the wire for the new light down to the light box at the bottom of the stairs.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 02:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding a light to an existing 3 way circuit


Quote:
I would like to jumper off that neutral. Does that sound okay?



You are going to have to feed the new light from the existing light or the other switch.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM
Adding a light to an existing 3-way connection nthomp16 Electrical 2 07-21-2008 06:57 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM
add a second light to an existing 3 way switch circuit djohns10 Electrical 6 03-02-2007 07:16 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 12:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.