Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-03-2010, 01:25 AM   #1

Share |
Smile

Adding A Light To A Circuit

Hi,
I have managed to re-wired my entire basement, and I am an electronics tech, so I am familiar with electricity. My issue is:

I have managed to reconfigured what was originally installed in my basement. I have source power coming into the last bedroom (everything else in my basement works perfect....all lights and electrical outlets). When i connect the outlets in the bedroom to the source everything works fine. However when I pig-tale from the source (in the bedroom) to add in the light for the room i run into an issue.

As long as the light is in the "On" position it runs perfect. However as soon as I switch it to the off position, I hear a surge and then the breaker trips.

Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Jason Coady
Coady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 06:17 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor

Need details on how you wired the switch.

Is this related to the OP about adding a receptacle to a 3 way switch?
Old 09-03-2010, 06:27 AM   #3

My guess is that you will have to give a bit more detail. Questions that jump out at me are:

a. what devices (switches, outlets, fixtures) do you have on this circuit?

b. how do you know the switch is in the "on" position?

c. how is your switch wired?

Did you run a wire (2 conductor, plus ground) from an outlet to the switch, then a wire from the switch to the light? Are you sure you have polarities correct? White is neutral, black is hot? At the switch box, the switch should have two black wires attached. Whites should be tied together. All grounds should be tied together. Is this how you have it?
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 10:28 AM   #4