Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2010, 06:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


Hi,
As my topic indicates i'm trying to wire a hot receptacle to a 3-way switch. The issue I am having with this is, I am trying to added it into the box with only the 14-3 wire going to it. Meaning the original power source is not in this box, it is in the other box of the 3 way switch.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Jason

Coady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 06:28 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,744
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Coady View Post
Hi,
As my topic indicates i'm trying to wire a hot receptacle to a 3-way switch. The issue I am having with this is, I am trying to added it into the box with only the 14-3 wire going to it. Meaning the original power source is not in this box, it is in the other box of the 3 way switch.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Jason
Not gonna happen!
You will need to find another soruce for the receptacle.
All you have in the box are switch legs and travelers.
You would need a neutral and a constant hot to work.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Coady (09-03-2010)
Old 09-03-2010, 12:11 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


I agree. If you only have the three wire cable then you don't have a neutral wire for the receptacle. Find another source of power.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring receptacle > switch > motion sensor lights Van Home Electrical 11 08-09-2010 11:27 PM
adding outlet from light switch tad Electrical 17 06-05-2009 11:25 PM
ceiling lighting using electrical receptacle with no switch cedar Electrical 8 02-03-2009 06:00 PM
Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light Marcus23 Electrical 5 10-11-2008 08:52 AM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 12:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.