Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2007, 11:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


I want to add a hot receptacle to a 3-way switch and have found a wiring diagram to show me the way. My question is, am I limited to just one hot receptacle or can I extend the circuit to other outlets, or even to another switch and light, or switch and fan?

rtyui2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 12:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 90
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


It depends on what all you have on that circuit. If you dont know you can turn off the power and see what is not working. Some 3 way switches you cannot tap out of because not all of them have a neutral, which you will need.

RichyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 04:00 AM   #3
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


Not all of them have a constant hot either....which you also need. Do you have a constant hot AND a neutral?
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:25 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by RichyL View Post
It depends on what all you have on that circuit. If you dont know you can turn off the power and see what is not working. Some 3 way switches you cannot tap out of because not all of them have a neutral, which you will need.
It's a new circuit that I want to run in an addition to my house so there is nothing on the circuit yet.
rtyui2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:19 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,731
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by rtyui2 View Post
It's a new circuit that I want to run in an addition to my house so there is nothing on the circuit yet.
You are limited by the code in your area. Is the addition condisered a batroom, kitchen or bedroom.
If a kitchen, then you cannot share the outlets and lights.
If a bathroom, then you can share in some cases.
In a bedrrom you can share in all cases.
The best way to wire it is bring the hot into the recepticile first, then feed the 3 way switches.
Clear as mud eh?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 05:54 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,441
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


You are not limited to one receptacle. You can extend the circuit to other devices, as many as you like without overloading the circuit.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 05:59 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


Quote:
You are not limited to one receptacle. You can extend the circuit to other devices, as many as you like without overloading the circuit.

And, like someone else said, make sure you have the hot AND neutral in that switch box.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:01 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,441
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


It's whole new non existent circuit. It can be wired any way he likes it to be.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 90
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


[quote=rtyui2;The best way to wire it is bring the hot into the recepticile first, then feed the 3 way switches.
Clear as mud eh?[/quote]

I agree with JB here although you will only need to have a hot to one of the 3 way switches, your travelers from the fed switch will carry the hot to the 2nd 3 way switch. If the 2nd 3way switch is in a box that you will be putting a single pole switch in addition to the 3way you WILL need a hot to the other box to feed the single pole.
RichyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 06:33 PM   #10
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by RichyL View Post
your travelers from the fed switch will carry the hot to the 2nd 3 way switch. If the 2nd 3way switch is in a box that you will be putting a single pole switch in addition to the 3way you WILL need a hot to the other box to feed the single pole.
Huh??
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 07:27 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 90
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


sorry for the confusion. What i meant to say was If he has a single gang box with a 3-way that is fed here, and across the room a 2 gang box with a 3-way and a single pole in it, he will not be able to use the hot off the travelers from the 3-way to feed his single pole switch. Hope this makes more sense He will need a seperate hot and neutral at this point.

Last edited by RichyL; 11-21-2007 at 07:31 PM.
RichyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:08 PM   #12
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch


It does...I thought you meant the opposite. Don't be shy to call me out when I don't make sense!

Andy

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a light switch.... truebaca Electrical 6 07-18-2007 04:42 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 12:43 AM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.