Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2008, 01:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Adding a Heat Pump


Hello, new to the forum and just wanted to say thanks ahead of time for the help.

My house is 16 yrs old and currently has a meter panel outside with a 125A rating, it has 4 breakers out of 6 spots installed (no main cutoff). 60A, 50A, 30A, 30A. The 60A-feeds main panel in the house which is a 125A 20/40 type, 50A-range, 30A-a/c compressor, 30A-dryer. Do I have 100A service then? Can I safely add a 60A breaker for a heat pump?

Thanks

BIGROTT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 03:17 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,584
Default

Adding a Heat Pump


Usually, the service size is the rating of the main breaker. Since this service doesn't have a main breaker, we'll go with the main panel bus rating, and call it 125.

Given the loads you've described, I would nave no problem at all installing a 60 amp 2 pole breaker in the 2 remaining slots of the main panel. You're still legal, because you can have up to 6 breakers to disconnect the entire service, you have 5 now. I don't know the size of the house, but I'd bet that if we did a load calc., you'd still be OK. Even better if the new heat pump replaces the existing A/C unit.

Rob

micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 03:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Adding a Heat Pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Usually, the service size is the rating of the main breaker. Since this service doesn't have a main breaker, we'll go with the main panel bus rating, and call it 125.

Given the loads you've described, I would nave no problem at all installing a 60 amp 2 pole breaker in the 2 remaining slots of the main panel. You're still legal, because you can have up to 6 breakers to disconnect the entire service, you have 5 now. I don't know the size of the house, but I'd bet that if we did a load calc., you'd still be OK. Even better if the new heat pump replaces the existing A/C unit.

Rob
This meter panel appears to only accpet 2 pole breakers for a total of 6, with 4 spots occupied. Its about an 1800 sqft home, and the new heat pump breaker (60A) would be for the air handler (indoor) and I would need to keep the 30A for the outdoor unit.
BIGROTT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 01:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Adding a Heat Pump


That still leaves you with 2 slots for your 60 amp breaker. No problem, use it. Don't these meter/load center panels really come in handy? I would never just buy a meter can again.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 03:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Adding a Heat Pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
That still leaves you with 2 slots for your 60 amp breaker. No problem, use it. Don't these meter/load center panels really come in handy? I would never just buy a meter can again.

They sure do... Job is complete, I ended up using a 60A breaker wired with 6/2 outdoor wire. Had to pull the meter to cut the power off. Judging by the main meter wires (at least 4/0) I could definetly upgrade the panel to 200A if I needed to.
BIGROTT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 10:22 PM
Fujitsu Heat Pump Concerns SanDiegoCool HVAC 3 03-19-2009 12:27 PM
Heat pump in non insulated nor heated room robdville HVAC 3 01-21-2008 02:51 PM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.