Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-25-2013, 09:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

adding a half switched outlet


I have some lights that are in my shop that I want to add a half switched outlet to run a florescent light. The lights are currently setup like this

source
|
light -- switch
|
----outlet with one side hot and one side switched I want to add this
|
light
|
light




I have been looking online at different circuit diagrams and none I have found are what I am looking for. Can this be done? It seems like it could if I run a 14-3 to the outlet but I haven't been able to find a diagram to follow anywhere.

Thanks

Dan


Last edited by bn2hunt; 05-25-2013 at 09:07 PM. Reason: diagram is lining up correctly
bn2hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 09:02 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

adding a half switched outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by bn2hunt View Post
I have some lights that are in my shop that I want to add a half switched outlet to run a florescent light. The lights are currently setup like this
if all you need is a half switched outlet then check out doagram below


Quote:
Originally Posted by bn2hunt View Post
source
|
light -- switch
|
----outlet with one side hot and one side switched I want to add this
|
light
|
light

Have no idea what the above means.
Attached Thumbnails
adding a half switched outlet-incom-out-sw-1-2-out-hot-2-3.jpg  


Last edited by hammerlane; 05-26-2013 at 09:05 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:46 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Default

adding a half switched outlet


Ok, I put something together on the laptop to display what I am thinking. Anything going to the outlet is new, the lights are displayed as currently wired.
Attached Thumbnails
adding a half switched outlet-add-hot-outlet.jpg  

Last edited by bn2hunt; 05-26-2013 at 10:54 AM.
bn2hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:56 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Default

adding a half switched outlet


I noticed the drawing didn't look like I meant it to. The black to the outlet would be spliced in at the light not in the middle of the run.
bn2hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 12:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

adding a half switched outlet


Still am a little confused as to what you are trying to do. Are you saying that lite "A" is existing and now you want to add lites "B" and "C"? And you also want the switch that control all lites to also switch 1/2 the receptacle?
Attached Thumbnails
adding a half switched outlet-add-20hot-20outlet.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 02:22 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Default

adding a half switched outlet


All the lights are existing I want to add the outlet, but I only want one of the plugins to be run by the switch and the other plugin to be hot all the time.
bn2hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 05:45 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

adding a half switched outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by bn2hunt View Post
All the lights are existing I want to add the outlet, but I only want one of the plugins to be run by the switch and the other plugin to be hot all the time.
And you have power coming into on of the light locations and a switch loop runnung to the switch?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:30 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Default

adding a half switched outlet


Yes that is correct
bn2hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:54 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

adding a half switched outlet


See if this makes sense to you. I only showed 2 lights but you can see how to add the 3rd.

grounds not shown for ease of drawing
Attached Thumbnails
adding a half switched outlet-power-lite-switch-loop-half-switch-recept.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:51 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Default

adding a half switched outlet


yes that's what I was looking for thanks

bn2hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding new GFCI outlet to existing light switch idzrvit Electrical 15 11-20-2011 09:16 PM
Converting switched outlet to unswitched.. Blivit Electrical 8 07-11-2011 07:07 AM
3way half switched receptacles Rhyno973 Electrical 2 10-05-2010 02:33 PM
Adding Ceiling Light From Switched Outlet vboz5 General DIY Discussions 2 03-04-2009 12:53 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.