Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2011, 07:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Adding a ground wire to a fixture?


I have a pair of antique, 2-arm, brass sconces that were handed down from my wife's great-grandfather, and have 2 questions about mounting and wiring.

WIRING
The sconces have been recently rewired for electric, with a rotary switch in the middle. The electrician is coming in to install boxes, but he will not mount the sconces unless they have a proper ground. I can do it myself, but would prefer to have a ground if I can. I could rewire the sconces, but they have candelabra bases, and as far as I can figure out, these type of bases do not take a ground wire. It seems like I should attach the ground wire to the sconce body. The back of the sconces is hefty solid metal, but I don't necessarily want to attempt to drill a ground screw into it; I don't think it is quite thick enough for a standard 10-32 ground screw, and my marriage will suffer if I screw it up.

QUESTION: How do I introduce a proper ground? Can I ground the mounting bar (see below) and then use the metal mounting connections as the ground? Is there some very smallground strap I cound screw into the rim of the sconce with a #4 or #6 screw (a little thicker) that could be used?


MOUNTING
They are sufficiently old that they do not have standard mounting mechanisms; they have little triangular hooks on the back. I am trying to adapt them for modern wall mounting, while making as few changes as possible.

I got some 1/8" flat brass stock (3/4" x 9"), and shaped them to lay vertically beneath the centerline of the sconce. I drilled mounting holes to attach the bar to a standard box. The sconces have swirly bits at the top and holes where the old control was near the bottom; at the top and bottom, I tapped holes, and insert 10-32 studs aligned with these holes in the sconce. I have small brass washers and brass ball nut to hold the sconce in place.

QUESTION: the 1/8" brass stock creates a 1/8 gap between the wall and the sconce. You will need to work at it to get something in there. I could craft something to fill it, but it would be a pain. Please advise.

I am thinking that a filler could be crafted out of something like: http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...atalogId=10053

Many thanks,
Keith

dkeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 07:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,930
Default

Adding a ground wire to a fixture?


Attaching the ground wire anywhere to the metal body of the fixture will work okay.

You could get a tear drop shaped ring that the switch shank fits through and that has a tab onto which the ground wire can be soldered. Remove the switch, sand the switch hole on the back side to be shiny, put the ring against tje hole, and then re-install the switch.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-01-2011 at 07:41 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Adding a ground wire to a fixture?


Thanks AllanJ.

I guess I was not clear that I have removed the push-button switch and am using the hole with a washer and ball screw for mounting. That tear-drop-shaped tab sounds interesting. The triangular hanger was secured with a ~#6 machine screw, which I have removed. Given this tabby thing, I could screw it in there and hang the ground wire from it. I'll have to make a clearance hole for it in the mounting bar, but that should be pretty easy.

Do I need a specific tabby thing, or can I make my own?

Any thoughts on the 1/8" gap"?
dkeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fixture, ground wire, rewire


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 01:33 PM
Running new(up to code) ground wire & protection. MikeSF Electrical 25 07-04-2010 04:33 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Replacement Light Fixture - Speed Wire Clip? nick4597 Electrical 4 01-03-2009 12:49 PM
Ground wire turned black? n0c7 Electrical 1 07-28-2008 07:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.