Adding GFCI And Extra Light - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2011, 09:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Adding GFCI and extra light


I have an outlet which I need to convert to GFi and also run an extra line from GFi for a light. Two seperate (12-2) lines input the current oultet which will be replaced by GFi. How should i wire so the light that will go from the GFi also be protected? Thx

Advertisement

EelectricP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 11:14 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding GFCI and extra light


The cable from the light should connect to the load side of GFCI. If you want the GFCI to protect the outlets downstream of that outlet, you need to find which set of 12-2 is line and which is load. Line connects to line, and load connects to load.

Advertisement

mjjstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 11:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding GFCI and extra light


How do i determine line/load?

I think i understand. You mean undo wire nuts and see which cable has juice?

Last edited by EelectricP; 08-05-2011 at 11:35 PM.
EelectricP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 11:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding GFCI and extra light


Well on the GFCI, it should be stated. Also, usually new ones will have a sticker covering the load terminals.

for determining the line/load on the wires that are there already, remove one black wire from the outlet and see if the outlet is still hot. If not,then the wire you removed is the line.

Of course you want to turn the breaker off and generally be safe while doing this. Cap the wire you take off so it doesn't accidentally brush you or a ground. And this is assuming your wiring was done correctly and black is wired hot. A non-contact voltage detector would work also if you can isolate the wires from each other enough to eliminate false indications.

Edit, exactly
mjjstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts