Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2011, 10:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Hi!

I'm a newbie to the electrical trade looking for some advice. Am working on a residential project for a friend dedicating a basement laundry to its own 20A breaker, and want to add a pull-chain light on that circuit.

Does it matter whether the panel line connects to the laundry receptacle first or the light? I wanted to run a junction box for these, but have very limited space (duct obstruction, low ceiling, plumbing placement) - best place to mount the light was before the 20A receptacle in the run. I haven't wired the panel yet, but have the panel line connecting directly to the light fixture as well as the new receptacle.

Any help would be most appreciated!

Thanks,
Andy

ajricks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 10:58 AM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Circuits for laundry receptacles are not allowed to have anything but laundry receptacles on them. No lights, no receptacles for other rooms, etc. Laundry receptacles only.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Not legal to put lights on the laundry circuit.

210.11(C)(2) Laundry Branch Circuits. In addition to the number
of branch circuits required by other parts of this section, at
least one additional 20-ampere branch circuit shall be provided
to supply the laundry receptacle outlet(s) required by
210.52(F). This circuit shall have no other outlets.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:01 AM   #4
jschaben
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: La Crosse, Kansas
Posts: 587
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by ajricks View Post
Hi!

I'm a newbie to the electrical trade looking for some advice. Am working on a residential project for a friend dedicating a basement laundry to its own 20A breaker, and want to add a pull-chain light on that circuit.

Does it matter whether the panel line connects to the laundry receptacle first or the light? I wanted to run a junction box for these, but have very limited space (duct obstruction, low ceiling, plumbing placement) - best place to mount the light was before the 20A receptacle in the run. I haven't wired the panel yet, but have the panel line connecting directly to the light fixture as well as the new receptacle.

Any help would be most appreciated!

Thanks,
Andy
Electrically, shouldn't make any difference as they have to be wired in parallel anyway. Code wise, around here, lighting circuits aren't allowed on the same circuits as wall outlets. That's super simplified but essentially the way it is.
__________________
John Schaben

"Where all think alike, no one is thinking very much"
jschaben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:45 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Not legal to put lights on the laundry circuit.

210.11(C)(2) Laundry Branch Circuits. In addition to the number
of branch circuits required by other parts of this section, at
least one additional 20-ampere branch circuit shall be provided
to supply the laundry receptacle outlet(s) required by
210.52(F). This circuit shall have no other outlets.
Just wanted to say thanks again. I originally read this piece of the Code before I started the project, and should have just left it at that. I questioned it because I've seen outlets added to this circuit (usually lamps) by people in the trade.
ajricks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:52 AM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by ajricks View Post
Just wanted to say thanks again. I originally read this piece of the Code before I started the project, and should have just left it at that. I questioned it because I've seen outlets added to this circuit (usually lamps) by people in the trade.
The laundry circuit can have more than 1 receptacle in the area and someone can plug in a lamp. You just cannot puts the light fixture and such on the circuit and the circuit cannot leave the area.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
ajricks (09-25-2011)
Old 09-25-2011, 11:55 AM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by ajricks View Post
I questioned it because I've seen outlets added to this circuit (usually lamps) by people in the trade.
Not to be harsh, but that's an indication of not knowing/understanding/respecting the code section.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
ajricks (09-25-2011), frenchelectrican (09-25-2011), John3rd (10-20-2011), Speedy Petey (09-25-2011)
Old 09-25-2011, 12:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Here is a picture:

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
ajricks (09-25-2011)
Old 09-25-2011, 12:06 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
The laundry circuit can have more than 1 receptacle in the area and someone can plug in a lamp. You just cannot puts the light fixture and such on the circuit and the circuit cannot leave the area.
Sorry, by lamps, I meant fixtures that are wired directly to the laundry circuit through a junction box, not plugged into the laundry receptacle.

This all started because I referred to another electrician's work on a different job: he wired his basement so that one receptacle running to the kitchen (incidentally, used for a microwave), and three light fixtures are tapping off the laundry breaker in the basement. One of the problems I noticed with that job, is that those lights flicker when the washer is in use.

A problem I've yet to figure out, though, is why lights on another breaker flicker as well when the washer is in use. I thought I had identified every line coming off the washer breaker. Guess not.

Appreciate your input all the same!
ajricks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 12:11 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Not to be harsh, but that's an indication of not knowing/understanding/respecting the code section.
I understood the wording of the code clearly. I erred in gauging it against someone else's work. My mistake.
ajricks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 12:20 PM   #11
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


I’m sorry, I meant the work of the others you gauged it against, not your work.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 12:53 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Iím sorry, I meant the work of the others you gauged it against, not your work.
No offense taken, this is a good way for a newbie to learn, right?
ajricks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 01:33 PM   #13
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,817
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


It's so nice to see everyone kiss and make up....

And on a more serious note.......

While I understand that there is nothing in the code from preventing someone from connecting lights to the same ckt as the outlets (utility, bathroom and fridge excluded), I personally don't ever connect lights on the same ckt as outlets.....nothing worse than tripping the breaker for an outlet and the room going dark. In my house, I took it a step further.....I don't put adjacent rooms on the same lighting ckt. That way, if the breaker trips for the light in one room....you can still get light from the adjacent room
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 05:09 PM   #14
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
It's so nice to see everyone kiss and make up....

And on a more serious note.......

While I understand that there is nothing in the code from preventing someone from connecting lights to the same ckt as the outlets (utility, bathroom and fridge excluded), I personally don't ever connect lights on the same ckt as outlets.....nothing worse than tripping the breaker for an outlet and the room going dark. In my house, I took it a step further.....I don't put adjacent rooms on the same lighting ckt. That way, if the breaker trips for the light in one room....you can still get light from the adjacent room
ddawg

It is laundry not utility. Other outlets cannot be on a SABC, nor a dedicated refrigeration or fridge circuit-you mentioned fridge, but not SABC. Bathroom lights can on the same circuit as as the receptacle, if the circuit does not leave the bathroom and the lights are 50% or less of the branch circuit rating.

If these circuits exist, in general- they cannot have other outlets or loads either.
A cord connected range hood.
Central heating.

Last edited by Code05; 09-25-2011 at 05:23 PM.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2011, 11:58 PM   #15
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,817
Default

Adding Fixtures to a New Breaker


What is an "SABC"

Laundry room...utility room.....220....221....what ever it takes........

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running a subpanel from the main breaker on the pole. shocknawe Electrical 6 05-09-2011 09:51 AM
Heat Pump trips breaker gt1935 HVAC 2 03-26-2011 10:06 PM
Bad breaker panel??? drjay9051 Electrical 9 08-25-2010 03:43 PM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 04:31 PM
small voltage on circuit with breaker off jasonmechler Electrical 3 08-24-2009 08:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.