Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2012, 07:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Adding fixtures to an existing 3way switch


I need to add 2 fixtures to an existing circuit that has the following set up:
Power in 14/2 - 1st fixture - 14/3 - 2nd fixture - 14/2 - 3way switch - 14/3 - 4way switch - 14/3 - 3way switch.

mom5va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:58 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Adding fixtures to an existing 3way switch


You will need to wire the new fixtures to the existing light fixtures. You will not be able to feed the new lights from any of the switches.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
mom5va (08-15-2012)
Old 08-14-2012, 08:02 PM   #3
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,266
Default

Adding fixtures to an existing 3way switch


Exactly what is the question?---the lights are after the switch set up---so all lights --existing or new will come from the power that exits the last switch.and use the same neutral.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 11:39 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Adding fixtures to an existing 3way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by mom5va View Post
I need to add 2 fixtures to an existing circuit that has the following set up:
Power in 14/2 - 1st fixture - 14/3 - 2nd fixture - 14/2 - 3way switch - 14/3 - 4way switch - 14/3 - 3way switch.
The best location to tie in new luminaires is either exsting luminaires only due the wiring conferation set up so it much easier to just hook up to the luminaries.

But S.V.P.( Please ) pay attetion to the connections on the luminaires at either luminaire location this is crictial so you will not mess up the connections for the rest of the circuit.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
mom5va (08-15-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 06:54 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Adding fixtures to an existing 3way switch


Thank you all. Sorry I did not give location. I'm very new at this. I am in Virginia. So with the power coming into the first fixture I need to run wire from the new fixtures back to the first fixture.
Do I just use 14/2, join the 2 new fixtures then run the wire to the 1st fixture and join them all neutrals together and the new black to the existing black/red
mom5va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 07:52 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Smile

Adding fixtures to an existing 3way switch


I just wanted to say Thank you to all of the DIYers and the Pros that take time out of thier day to answer questions from people like me. You will never really know how much you have blessed so many people, especially me. I have learned so much. I solved my wiring problem. It was much easier to rewire the switch set up to sw1-sw2-sw3-Lt1-Lt2-Lt3-Lt4. Should be able to call for electrical inspection on Monday. Then on to plumbing!
mom5va is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 08:10 PM   #7
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,266
Default

Adding fixtures to an existing 3way switch


Thanks---We have a bunch of good folks here--more than a few have plumbed a house,too.

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding to a plastic switch box jdjd Electrical 2 06-25-2012 02:35 PM
replacing an existing 1-way decora light switch with a dimmer switch maljeff Electrical 3 01-11-2012 11:49 AM
Add 2 ceramic fixtures to existing switch diyneedshelp007 Electrical 4 03-01-2010 01:28 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.