Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2013, 10:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


I have a new home with 2 flood lights on one switch in the front and two in the back on a separate switch. I would like to add 3 floodlights in the rear and two in the front and put them on their respective switches. Can I add them to the circuits?

dav1dkent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 06:11 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


add up your wattages of everything you want to do and whatever else is on that circuit .... then figure out what amperage the circuits are ...is where u start ..

ie you said 1 flood in front is that a double bulb type >> so 90 + 90 = 180 watts

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:48 AM   #3
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,246
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


Try this one on for size, and this was on the house when I bought it: There are two (2) floodlights (4 bulbs) on the front of my house--one switch at the front door operates these two. There are two (2) floodlights on the back of the house (4 bulbs) and there is one switch at the back door to operate these. BUT--there is a switch in the master bedroom that will turn on ALL four sets (8 bulbs) of these floodlights and you CANNOT turn them OFF at either the front door switch or the back door switch. I have asked some really good (?) electricians that I know as to how this is wired and none of them have been able to draw this schematic out. Unfortunately I have not been able to find any wiring in the attic, nor under the house, that leads to these switches and/or lamps so I could trace them back to control box, or something. Yes, there is a circuit breaker in the main box that is labeled "Security lamps" and the label is red. This is how I had to turn the lamps ON/OFF after I bought the house until I realized that a switch in the bedroom controlled the lamps.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 09:24 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
Try this one on for size, and this was on the house when I bought it: There are two (2) floodlights (4 bulbs) on the front of my house--one switch at the front door operates these two. There are two (2) floodlights on the back of the house (4 bulbs) and there is one switch at the back door to operate these. BUT--there is a switch in the master bedroom that will turn on ALL four sets (8 bulbs) of these floodlights and you CANNOT turn them OFF at either the front door switch or the back door switch. I have asked some really good (?) electricians that I know as to how this is wired and none of them have been able to draw this schematic out. Unfortunately I have not been able to find any wiring in the attic, nor under the house, that leads to these switches and/or lamps so I could trace them back to control box, or something. Yes, there is a circuit breaker in the main box that is labeled "Security lamps" and the label is red. This is how I had to turn the lamps ON/OFF after I bought the house until I realized that a switch in the bedroom controlled the lamps.

DPDT switch in bedroom ....


take switch out and take a picture of it ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 11:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


If the switch in the bedroom turns the lights on,
then they cannot be turned off at the other switchs by the door,
Then the switch in the bedroom is in PARRALLEL with the others,
And I believe this is NOT allowed by code !
Rip it out and do it right !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 12:02 AM   #6
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,407
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


Quote:
Then the switch in the bedroom is in PARRALLEL with the others,
Not with a DPDT. It would route power to the door switches normally. When thrown, it would disconnect power over that route and send power directly to the lights over another set of conductors.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:12 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


Which means it's in parrallel.
Which I still think is against code !

Which switch do you think is DPDT ?
What does code allow in that area ?
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:07 PM   #8
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,407
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


Please explain why you think this is in parallel ?
Yellow is neutral. I used both red and black for hots, but just to help separate the A and B circuit.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Exterior Flood Lights-dpdtlight.jpg  
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,375
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


This arrangement would work,
And would fit the description of the first post.
How ever, I was under the impression that code does not allow
such arrangements ?
This is why I suggestted that you check the codes in your area,
As some area's are different.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:45 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 209
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


you cant switch neutral, you dont even need dpdt you need a 2 position switch (spdt) often called 3 way switch
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 04:01 PM   #11
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,407
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


Quote:
you cant switch neutral,
Please post the code section that says you can not switch the neutral at the same time you switch the associated hot.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:54 PM   #12
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by oso954
please post the code section that says you can not switch the neutral at the same time you switch the associated hot.
404.2(b)
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 12:01 AM   #13
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,407
Default

Adding Exterior Flood Lights


There is (was?) an exception in 404.2(B) that stated that a switch or circuit breaker shall be permitted to disconnect a grounded circuit conductor where all circuit conductors are disconnected simultaneously or where the device is arranged so that the grounded conductor cannot be disconnected until all the ungrounded conductors of the circuit have been disconnected.

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing existing recessed soffit lights miamicuse Electrical 35 06-22-2013 07:52 AM
Adding Additional Recessed lights to existing jay235 Electrical 5 11-08-2012 05:43 PM
Need info on replacing 8 recessed lights in bathroom OhmZoned Electrical 1 11-07-2011 12:35 PM
adding lights samiller1980 Electrical 2 03-28-2010 06:45 PM
Adding Motion Sensor to coach lights sstinman Electrical 2 09-22-2009 09:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.