Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 03:31 PM   #16
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,342
Default

Adding an electrical water heater. Only single pole available in box.


Quote:
So occasionally, we would like the ability to drain that 80 gallon in 10 minutes.
Do you realize that the recovery time after such draining will be 2.5 hours or more ?

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 04:35 PM   #17
Member
 
dmclean701's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Adding an electrical water heater. Only single pole available in box.


Remember the breakers are there just to protect the wiring from getting too hot. A 200 amp main panel might have 300 amps of breakers in it but the loads on each are much less, some not on when others are etc, so the total is usually less than 200 amps, or the main breaker would be tripping all the time.

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
dmclean701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 05:18 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding an electrical water heater. Only single pole available in box.


But how can I ensure I won't be overloading that 90amp breaker?

I'm worried because in the master bedroom that runs off of that breaker, the lights dim for a 1/2 second when I turn the TV on.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 08:38 PM   #19
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,573
Rewards Points: 2,476
Default

Adding an electrical water heater. Only single pole available in box.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noone View Post
But how can I ensure I won't be overloading that 90amp breaker?

I'm worried because in the master bedroom that runs off of that breaker, the lights dim for a 1/2 second when I turn the TV on.
Time to get out a voltmeter and start making measurements....

And...if it's incandescent lighting...maybe consider going to LED or CFL
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:20 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Adding an electrical water heater. Only single pole available in box.


Where do I measure volts at? At the panel? Hook the red up from the multimeter to the black wire out of the breaker and then ground the multimeter with the black wire to the ground in the panel?

Last edited by noone; 08-24-2013 at 12:30 PM.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:33 PM   #21
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,166
Rewards Points: 2,242
Default

Adding an electrical water heater. Only single pole available in box.


A voltmeter is not going to give any useful info on the actual load.

If those breakers are just feeding lights and receptacles, don't worry about the load taxing a 90 amp sub.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 12:26 AM   #22
Member
 
dmclean701's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Adding an electrical water heater. Only single pole available in box.


You can put a clamp on ammeter on the feed into the sub-panel and measure the actual draw when you turn everything on. Measure both legs (black and red) then you can see how close to 90 amps it is. Be careful reaching into the panel because it will have to be hot to do this.

Sent from my iPad using DIY Forum
dmclean701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:34 AM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Adding an electrical water heater. Only single pole available in box.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noone View Post
I'm worried because in the master bedroom that runs off of that breaker, the lights dim for a 1/2 second when I turn the TV on.
That sounds like more of a loose connection than an overload.

I would check for back stabbed devices since the MB is on a 15 amp circuit.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chasing Ghosts - Phantom Water Leak FrozenMeatballs Plumbing 7 10-29-2014 07:03 PM
Installing an electric water heater in series with boiler paul01420 Plumbing 10 04-20-2013 09:48 PM
Water heater problems- thought I fixed the problem- what do I do next? brandall Plumbing 23 04-19-2013 06:44 PM
Water heater drain mechanism (10 year old) guptaalok Plumbing 1 01-02-2009 06:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.