Adding Circuits To My 200 Amp Service - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2009, 04:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding circuits to my 200 amp service


Hi,
I am in process of adding a 100 amp sub panel to my attached garage. I have the wires pulled from my 200 amp service to the 100 amp lug panel but not connected at the 200 amp service. I am clear for most part on connections at the sub panel.
I was going to get electrician to connect my pulled wires to panels but as i progressed and read more and more decided to tackle cautiosly myself. I still may get my electricain to come over before using to look at but want to do majority myself and get good understanding of what needs to be done if i have someone else complete
1)First question is the "bonding screw" in my 100 amp sub/lug panel. i assume that is needed as my 200 amp main panel has neutral/ground attached together(bonded?).
2)In my 200 amp main (siemens) there are still 8 breaker spaces but all but 4 neutrals are filled. Is there a "add on" neatral bar i can purchase?It looks like panel has provisons for this or do i need one longer strip? How does this connect? What is its real name? Reason i need more is i have 1 circuit for garage (2/2/2/4) 100 amp, and 3 circuits for lights and outlets in basement i ran 2 years ago and never hooked up to panel. Was waiting to get electrician for that too. so i need 4 neutrals and 4 grounds on the strip
3)regarding neutral connection, existing has neutrals and grounds to same strip. The neutral and ground each occupy a space. I would guess thats the right way, but can they be doubled up? Neutral and ground in same space?
4)also for the #2 neutral for the 100 amp sub, is there some kind of adapter to go from the small size terminals to the #2 size? There is a existing 100 amp sub for generator switching panel that has something similar.It looks like it takes 2 small spaces on terminal strip and adapts to one for the larger wire size. Whats that called?
5) whats the "paste" called that should be used on the aluminum 2/2/2/4 connections? I see the original electricain used this on the incoming service. Does it get used on all connections involving the aluminum wire?
Thanks!
Ryan

Advertisement


Last edited by ssscamaro; 01-19-2009 at 04:58 PM.
ssscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:09 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

adding circuits to my 200 amp service


1) No the bonding screw isn't used, your grounds and neutrals need to be separated.
2)You can probably add a couple tandems for some new light/receptacle circuits.
3) Double up on the grounds (same size) but leave the neutrals one on one.
4) Most are just called "add on lug kits"
5) Noalox is what Ideal calls it.

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:38 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

adding circuits to my 200 amp service


A nice picture of you open panel would also be a big help.
integlikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding circuits to my 200 amp service


Thanks,
i was just reading through a bunch of old posts. I can double up the grounds but not neutrals, which can easily give me enough space.
Is the "add on lug kit" what i need to go from the small lug size on the main panel neutral( looks like maybe #6) to the #2 i need to connect?
The noalox goes on all AL connections including connections of hots at the breakers treminals correct?

Ryan
ssscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:48 PM   #5
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 150
Default

adding circuits to my 200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by ssscamaro View Post
Is the "add on lug kit" what i need to go from the small lug size on the main panel neutral( looks like maybe #6) to the #2 i need to connect?
Yep. It should screw on to the top of the bar using one of the existing neutral/ground screw holes.
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 09:14 PM
Adding ground bar to main panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 6 09-27-2008 05:52 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 11:31 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 11:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts