Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 08:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


I really need some advice please. I'm in the middle of a bathroom renovation. The electrician ran the wire for a new breaker outside of the house. Is this a common practice? I'm very disappointed about this. I expected the wire to be fished through the walls (two stories) and into the attic. Not only does it look horrible, but now he has drilled holes through the stucco. He also left the entrance to the breaker box exposed. any comments or suggestion would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
adding circiut breaker wire outside of house-photo-77-.jpg   adding circiut breaker wire outside of house-photo-78-.jpg  

marieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 81
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


Oh my word.... talk about a hack We he licensed?

mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:23 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


They should have consulted you before running the wire in this manner. Was the EC hired by the GC? Consult the GC. Was the EC hired by you? Check the contract then consult the EC.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 08:25 PM   #4
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


Unbelievable, was this inspected? Is it at least wet location (UF) wire?

Hack job if you ask me!

__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:39 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


Yes he is licensed. The sad thing is I have used this electrician before.
marieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:41 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


I thought the exact same thing, that he should have consulted with me. I did bring this to the attention of the contractor. He is going to see that it is done the right way.
marieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:43 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


That's a good question about the wire for a wet location. I will make sure to ask!
marieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:00 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
They should have consulted you before running the wire in this manner.
My thoughts exactly.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
marieb (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 09:04 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,600
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


I'm just a hick hack and would have known better then that.
If I walked up and saw that one one of my jobs he'd never set foot on another one and I would not pay him.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
marieb (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 09:31 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


Thank you to everyone taking the time to comment. I'm just sick over this. I know I'm pretty particular about things and this has just about sent me over the edge. Not only am I worrying about it being done correctly, but also about repairing all the holes that were drilled. Nothing is ever the same once it has been damaged
marieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 81
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


Quote:
Originally Posted by marieb View Post
Thank you to everyone taking the time to comment. I'm just sick over this. I know I'm pretty particular about things and this has just about sent me over the edge. Not only am I worrying about it being done correctly, but also about repairing all the holes that were drilled. Nothing is ever the same once it has been damaged
I don't think you are in any immediate danger. It does need to be fixed and you should NOT have to pay for it. It looks like the stucco is kind of high in the air so any patch work will probably pretty hard to see.

Although you will know its there Dot let you GC forget that.
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:44 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


Thanks for the encouragement. I worry about water now seeping in over time.
marieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 11:28 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 26
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


I want to be prepared to respond to my contractor if it's suggested that fishing the cable is difficult given that it has to travel from the basement up two stories to the attic. What are any thoughts about passing the cable through conduit that could be placed along side the gutter? My first choice is to run it inside the house. I just want to have an educated decision if problems should arise.
marieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:05 AM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

adding circiut breaker wire outside of house


Inform them that you'd be willing to pay for a little drywall repair instead of what was installed. However, I wouldn't let him know that right away,

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
marieb (03-10-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
direct bury wire from house to garage??? help vinylman70 Electrical 30 01-20-2010 09:44 PM
Wire Needed for GF / Arc Fault breaker jamiedolan Electrical 13 09-20-2009 08:15 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM
20 amp breaker on 10/3 wire Duane 70 Electrical 6 09-16-2008 01:02 PM
Main house breaker keeps tripping cosmicmah Electrical 20 01-22-2008 12:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.