Adding Can Lights To An Existing Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2008, 04:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Adding can lights to an existing circuit


In my kitchen we have 5 or 6 can flood lights tied together on a circuit. There are two light switches on opposite sides of the room for the lights.

They left 2 spots where there is inadequate light, in front of the refrigerator and in front of the oven. I want to add can lights there.

I assume it is a parallel circuit for the existing lights. How would I tie in two new lights to the existing ones?

Do I need to be worried about the total current draw through my switches or on the circuit?

Would adding more lights possibly make it necessary to lower the wattage of the other bulbs? How do I figure that out?

I do not have attic access to the lights but I should be able to get extra cables to the lights between the joists.

House was constructed in 2005.

Advertisement

TexasEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 08:23 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,344
Rewards Points: 3,482
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Adding can lights to an existing circuit


The the two new fixtures into any of the existing fixtures. Two lights should not overload the circuit.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Add Two Lights to Existing Switch Polarstar Electrical 8 06-28-2008 03:13 PM
Adding a receptacle to existing circuit dekohl Electrical 3 09-10-2007 02:46 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 01:43 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts