Adding Can Lights - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 12:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding Can lights


Hi all, Newbie here

I originally had the ceiling fan and the switch. I started to add the can lights and got busy with life. Now months later I'm not sure what to do.

Can someone tell me how to connect these wires?
Do I have to many for a 4 way box?
Should I forget about the can lights?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ELECTRICAL PLAN.pdf (12.2 KB, 48 views)

Advertisement


Last edited by Stevo-1; 12-15-2012 at 12:27 PM.
Stevo-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 06:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Adding Can lights


Can someone tell me how to connect these wires?

That depends on how you want the lights controlled. Are you going to have all of the lights on one switch along with the fan?

Do I have to many for a 4 way box?

Need more information. How deep is the box? What wire size are you using? Are there internal cable clamps or external? Do you have access above this area such as an attic?

Should I forget about the can lights?

That depends on how much you want/need the additional can lights. Even if it turns out that you can't use the existing box doesn't mean that the project is over. Sometimes you just need to find another way. Can you run the cable from one can light to the other and not use the existing box. That would save you a couple of conductors towards the box fill.

Advertisement

teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:46 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding Can lights


Thank you for the reply

Are you going to have all of the lights on one switch along with the fan?

Yes that would work I can control the fan with the pull chains independently

How deep is the box?

2"

What wire size are you using?
14/2

Are there internal cable clamps or external?
External

Do you have access above this area such as an attic?
Yes Attic


Can you run the cable from one can light to the other and not use the existing box. That would save you a couple of conductors towards the box fill.
Yes, why didnt I think of that.

Stevo-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding Can lights


Revised
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ELECTRICAL PLAN_Rev-1.pdf (12.3 KB, 41 views)
Stevo-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 01:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Adding Can lights


Looks like that should work for you. I don't have my book with me but from memory that box is good for 15 #14 wires. External clamps don't count towards fill. You have 5 cables which is 10 wires+1 for all of the grounds. The fan wires will have to be counted and I am not sure if the fan fixture itself would take up any of the conductor count. A device like a switch or an outlet counts as 2. If the box gets too full you could install a new 4" square box next to this box.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Additional Recessed lights to existing jay235 Electrical 5 11-08-2012 06:43 PM
Finding underground electric wire for driveway lights. mitch21131 Electrical 25 09-24-2012 09:52 AM
Need info on replacing 8 recessed lights in bathroom OhmZoned Electrical 1 11-07-2011 01:35 PM
adding lights samiller1980 Electrical 2 03-28-2010 07:45 PM
Adding Motion Sensor to coach lights sstinman Electrical 2 09-22-2009 10:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts