Adding An Additional Light To 2 3-way Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2008, 08:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Angry

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


I have a set of two lights, one at the top and one at the bottom of the basement stairway. Both these lights are controlled by 2 3 way switches which are located one at the top and one at the bottom of the stairs. In the process of remodeling the basement, I have added more light and needed to juggle some circuits. The power for these lights used to come
thru the switch at the bottom of the stairs using a three wire cable coming into the box. The power came from a set of 6 lights which were controlled by single switch. It was them transfer over from one switch to the three way I spoke of and the ground just continued thru the box. I have separated the two and put them on the separate circuits. I now run the circuit in question by the following diagram.

----- two wire cable(power) --- can light ----- Three wire cable -----
continued --- 3 way switch ---- three wire cable --- 3 way switch ----
continued --- two wire cable --- light1 ---- two wire cable --- light 2

I tried to duplicate the connections the previous electrician had when he
ran a 3 wire to a single switch and then jumpered the power accross to the second switch. The two lights that come after the switches work as
they should and the light ahead of the two switches works sometimes, depending on the positions of the two 3 ways. I've looked at diagrams on-line and the connections don't seem to match the way my election has these three ways connected. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Advertisement

basement_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 09:19 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,360
Rewards Points: 3,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


If you want the can light ans light 1 & 2 in the above post all to work from the three way switches you can't do it with the wiring you have. You would need a 4 wire cable between the switches.

It will look sort of like this. Less lights on left, more on right.

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches-multilightthreeway.jpg

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 06:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by basement_guy View Post
I have a set of two lights, one at the top and one at the bottom of the basement stairway. Both these lights are controlled by 2 3 way switches which are located one at the top and one at the bottom of the stairs. In the process of remodeling the basement, I have added more light and needed to juggle some circuits. The power for these lights used to come
thru the switch at the bottom of the stairs using a three wire cable coming into the box. The power came from a set of 6 lights which were controlled by single switch. It was them transfer over from one switch to the three way I spoke of and the ground just continued thru the box. I have separated the two and put them on the separate circuits. I now run the circuit in question by the following diagram.

----- two wire cable(power) --- can light ----- Three wire cable -----
continued --- 3 way switch ---- three wire cable --- 3 way switch ----
continued --- two wire cable --- light1 ---- two wire cable --- light 2

I tried to duplicate the connections the previous electrician had when he
ran a 3 wire to a single switch and then jumpered the power accross to the second switch. The two lights that come after the switches work as
they should and the light ahead of the two switches works sometimes, depending on the positions of the two 3 ways. I've looked at diagrams on-line and the connections don't seem to match the way my election has these three ways connected. Thanks for any help you can provide.
You can add as many DPDT switches as you want between the SPDT two-way switches already there, unless I misunderstand your question.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 06:35 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


You misunderstood ....... again...
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 07:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
You misunderstood ....... again...
Was my answer right for what I thought he said?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 12:11 AM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


There is no way in haties you could have actually thought that....

Plus your answer is wrong you cannot put as many as you want between the switches.....think about it...Are you sure you are not DW from Ford? Cause I get more convinced everytime you post.

Last edited by Stubbie; 07-19-2008 at 12:54 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 09:28 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
There is no way in haties you could have actually thought that....

Plus your answer is wrong you cannot put as many as you want between the switches.....think about it...Are you sure you are not DW from Ford? Cause I get more convinced everytime you post.
It's Hades!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hades
And I'm not DW from Ford.

Nah, I think now my answer was an allegorical metaphor embedded in a parable with simile-like features, so it may have been, or may still be, right in some alternate universe.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 10:23 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


Would you believe
allegorical metaphor embedded in a parable with simile-like features
?

For a Saturday morning, being well rested and all, I'm not doing too well. . .
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 10:25 AM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


The spelling is correct. I knew you would go to wikipedia for the hades definition. You seem to find out about everything from those guys. Look a little closer...hint... look for the definition of the place where children play.

I deleted the previous post was inappropriate comment.

Last edited by Stubbie; 07-19-2008 at 10:27 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 11:35 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


"referring to negative actions/behaviour that an individual was responsible for in the past and for which they are constantly reminded of by friends or haters who know about their past deeds and ignore how long ago all that xxxx was and how far you've come.
pronounced hate-ies, like the eighties. "

Verily, I am old [and picking up speed!]
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 10:23 AM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,360
Rewards Points: 3,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches


This post is going off topic and needs to be closed but I need to add my comments about WIKI.
Anyone can post anything there whether it is right or wrong. It is mostly a waste of time relying on wiki as an informed source of infomation.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 07:22 PM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM
50+ year old home-all light switches one-way? mudpaw Electrical 13 06-22-2008 02:57 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 12:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts