Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 08:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


Hey there,
I'm kind of a noob to the electrical feild so i'm sorry if this is a really basic question but I wanted to know if I could connect this circuit








to something like this

http://www.pegasuslighting.com/elect...paltr60pi.html

Could anyone give me any ideas on how i could do it?

jgyori29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


That looks like an automotive application...therefore 12v DC. The adapter you show is 12v AC...there's a difference. What are those leads for?

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 11:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


Oh wow! ha ha thanks for pointing that out I should have looked more carefully.

It's for this:
http://www.amazon.com/Pyle-PLHRQD9B-...+split+monitor

The leads are meant for a car, but I want to connect it to a wall instead. Ideally I would like it to have an internal battery but that seems some what complicated. So I could settle with it being tethered to a wall. Any ideas on how I could do this?

Oh also there is a plug that connects to the wall for the monitor, however in order to connect the monitor to wall you have to unplug all of the video inputs which is no bueno for me.
jgyori29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


You will need an power supply to operate that. Nothing too elaborate. $20-30 maybe.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 01:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


Yeah I know that would be the simplest way but I have to show it to a bunch of people and teach them how to use it and there not gunna want to hook up the battery and etc. plus it would nice not to lug around a big old battery around with us. I'm using this monitor to do some field shooting at my film school.

would something like this work?:http://www.ebay.com/itm/400313191018...=p5197.c0.m619
jgyori29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 01:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


That should work just fine.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:00 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,808
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


It looks like a low current application.

I don't suppose you know how much juice it uses? If not, what is the size of the fuse?

If it's low current and your not going to be using it for hours at a time...use some D size batteries. Just put 8 of them in series and you will be good to go.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 02:48 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


Ok and i'm assuming I should just take off the end of that red wire and attach the positive to the positive and the negativity to the negative and then add some heat shrinks to secure it. Is there any way I could get like a plastic clamp or something to run both wires into so it looks a little more professional? I want to use this for client work as well so it would be nice to have something that looked nice an pretty! ha ha

It says it uses 6w MAX, and if I did add the batteries is there a way I could secure it on the back of the monitor some how without it looking too sketchy?

here is what the back of it looks like



And here is the plug that it leads too



Currently in order to attach the monitor to the power supply I need to attach a reciprocating 8 pin cord that leads to those black and red wires and 4 female compost ends.

Here is a close up of the connection of the monitor and wire



I'm trying my best not to open the monitor up because I'm going to need to teach a bunch of people how to do this who have never worked with electrical appliances.
jgyori29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


If you go the battery route there are battery holders in various configurations available at Radio Shack If I did it that way I would use rechargeable batteries.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


Alright if I went the battery route how would I hook it up to the monitor?
jgyori29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:56 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


You need the other end of that plug (male end) to make that connection.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:52 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


Alright thanks I think i'm just going to go with the wall plug cause it seems a bit simpler and cleaner. Thanks for all your help!
jgyori29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:54 PM   #13
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

adding a ac adapter to a unit that accepts 12 volt


You are welcome....and good luck

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drain line plugged on air handler unit - need advice spta97 HVAC 19 07-26-2011 07:50 PM
adding central unit in old house Superbeef83 HVAC 2 07-21-2011 12:03 PM
Insulation under attic AC unit nickelshine General DIY Discussions 0 12-13-2010 02:30 PM
Adding second thermostat to HVAC unit hoanphu HVAC 3 12-07-2010 05:24 AM
Adding Geothermal heat exchanger to window unit richinok HVAC 4 06-23-2008 06:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.