Adding 40amp Double Pole 240v - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2010, 04:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


What do I need to look for in the main breaker if I am adding a 40amp double pole breaker to it. Do i need to do any calculations for the main breaker before putting in the 40amp double pole breaker? What size wire is recommended. Would an 8/2 romex be safe enough?

Advertisement

watsupbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,317
Rewards Points: 1,162
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


Depends what are you planning ? More info would be helpful.

Advertisement

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:47 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 9,585
Rewards Points: 5,964
Blog Entries: 11
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


First thing you need to look for is two empty spaces in your panel to add the breaker.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


New stoves require a neutal, so 40amp...u need 8/3
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 05:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,317
Rewards Points: 1,162
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlessmcfly View Post
New stoves require a neutal, so 40amp...u need 8/3
Did not see any mention of stove.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:40 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,256
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


A 40 amp breaker requires an 8 gauge or fatter wire (copper) for the circuit it serves.

Check the place in the panel to be sure that the two fins on which the breaker will fit on have 240 volts across them (are on opposite sides of the 120./240 volt service).

Sometimes you may have to rearrange other breakers to do this.

Advertisement

__________________
(One morning on WRKO Radio) The tub's not clean! Let's remodel the bathroom.
(One afternoon on WRKO Radio) It's time for an oil change. I'm going to trade in the car for next year's model.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 08:12 AM
double pole breaker + outlets / x10 BlueBSH Electrical 0 09-09-2010 12:44 PM
240V 2 pole 1/2 inch GE breakers? Isaac-1 Electrical 12 02-09-2010 11:21 AM
Question on 240v double pole breaker locations rovers1973 Electrical 10 02-14-2009 05:15 AM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts