Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2010, 04:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


What do I need to look for in the main breaker if I am adding a 40amp double pole breaker to it. Do i need to do any calculations for the main breaker before putting in the 40amp double pole breaker? What size wire is recommended. Would an 8/2 romex be safe enough?
watsupbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,136
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


Depends what are you planning ? More info would be helpful.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:47 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,195
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


First thing you need to look for is two empty spaces in your panel to add the breaker.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


New stoves require a neutal, so 40amp...u need 8/3
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 05:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,136
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlessmcfly View Post
New stoves require a neutal, so 40amp...u need 8/3
Did not see any mention of stove.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:40 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


A 40 amp breaker requires an 8 gauge or fatter wire (copper) for the circuit it serves.

Check the place in the panel to be sure that the two fins on which the breaker will fit on have 240 volts across them (are on opposite sides of the 120./240 volt service).

Sometimes you may have to rearrange other breakers to do this.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 08:12 AM
double pole breaker + outlets / x10 BlueBSH Electrical 0 09-09-2010 12:44 PM
240V 2 pole 1/2 inch GE breakers? Isaac-1 Electrical 12 02-09-2010 11:21 AM
Question on 240v double pole breaker locations rovers1973 Electrical 10 02-14-2009 05:15 AM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.