Adding 40amp Double Pole 240v - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2010, 05:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding 40amp double pole 240v


What do I need to look for in the main breaker if I am adding a 40amp double pole breaker to it. Do i need to do any calculations for the main breaker before putting in the 40amp double pole breaker? What size wire is recommended. Would an 8/2 romex be safe enough?

Advertisement

watsupbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,329
Rewards Points: 1,186
Default


Depends what are you planning ? More info would be helpful.

Advertisement

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 06:47 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 12,103
Rewards Points: 10,998
Blog Entries: 11
Default


First thing you need to look for is two empty spaces in your panel to add the breaker.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 07:09 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default


New stoves require a neutal, so 40amp...u need 8/3
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,329
Rewards Points: 1,186
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlessmcfly View Post
New stoves require a neutal, so 40amp...u need 8/3
Did not see any mention of stove.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 07:40 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,899
Rewards Points: 1,404
Default


A 40 amp breaker requires an 8 gauge or fatter wire (copper) for the circuit it serves.

Check the place in the panel to be sure that the two fins on which the breaker will fit on have 240 volts across them (are on opposite sides of the 120./240 volt service).

Sometimes you may have to rearrange other breakers to do this.

Advertisement

__________________
The good conscientious technician or serviceperson will carry extra oils and lubricants in case the new pump did not come with oil or the oil was accidentally spilled, so the service call can be completed without an extra visit.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole vs. Double Pole Thermostat dforeid Electrical 14 08-26-2012 09:12 AM
double pole breaker + outlets / x10 BlueBSH Electrical 0 09-09-2010 01:44 PM
240V 2 pole 1/2 inch GE breakers? Isaac-1 Electrical 12 02-09-2010 12:21 PM
Question on 240v double pole breaker locations rovers1973 Electrical 10 02-14-2009 06:15 AM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 03:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1