Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2012, 12:03 AM   #1
rookie
 
Neko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


I recently bought a lg dryer and would like to know if it is possible to add the dryer receptacle to a service panel that has the ground and common bonded? My service panel is located in the house where the dryer will also be located. My main service is located on the side of my garage which is a separate building from the house and there are three wires that come up through the service panel in the house.

thanks nicole

Let me rephrase Do I need to add the 4 wire plug along with receptacle or 3 wire. This will be a new circuit and as I mentioned befor the service panel is bonded (common&ground).


Last edited by Neko; 12-20-2012 at 02:59 AM. Reason: add
Neko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:46 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,140
Rewards Points: 3,074
Blog Entries: 4
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


All main panels have the neutral and ground bonded. That is normal.
You must use a four wire feed and four prong plug.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:53 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,340
Rewards Points: 2,342
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


If the existing wiring is 3-wire (two hots, Neutral), you do not need to change over the wiring for the new dryer. If there is no existing wiring for the dryer, you need to pull 10/3.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (12-20-2012)
Old 12-20-2012, 10:15 AM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,068
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Neko View Post
I recently bought a lg dryer and would like to know if it is possible to add the dryer receptacle to a service panel that has the ground and common bonded? My service panel is located in the house where the dryer will also be located. My main service is located on the side of my garage which is a separate building from the house and there are three wires that come up through the service panel in the house.

thanks nicole

Let me rephrase Do I need to add the 4 wire plug along with receptacle or 3 wire. This will be a new circuit and as I mentioned befor the service panel is bonded (common&ground).
Since this will be a new circuit, the cable has to contain two ungrounded, one neutral and one equipment grounding conductor. 10/3 non-metallic sheathed cable or 8/3 SER aluminum cable will work. Receptacles are available either surface mount or flush mount. A flush mount receptacle will require a seperate box. The surface mount does not need a box. You will need a 30A/240 breaker for your panel. The white and bare conductors can both be terminated on the ground/neutral bar. Just make sure each conductor is terminated under its' own screw.

This is a surface mount receptacle;



This is a flush mount receptacle;



Use a two gang box if you choose the flush mount device.

Good luck!! Merry Christmas!!
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 04:57 PM   #5
rookie
 
Neko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


so what will it be fellas, three wire or four?


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Since this will be a new circuit, the cable has to contain two ungrounded, one neutral and one equipment grounding conductor. 10/3 non-metallic sheathed cable or 8/3 SER aluminum cable will work. Receptacles are available either surface mount or flush mount. A flush mount receptacle will require a seperate box. The surface mount does not need a box. You will need a 30A/240 breaker for your panel. The white and bare conductors can both be terminated on the ground/neutral bar. Just make sure each conductor is terminated under its' own screw.

This is a surface mount receptacle;



This is a flush mount receptacle;



Use a two gang box if you choose the flush mount device.

Good luck!! Merry Christmas!!
Neko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:18 PM   #6
rookie
 
Neko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


so what will it be fellas, three or four wire feed?
Neko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:22 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,835
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


New installations are required to be 4 wires. Both those receptacles shown are 4 wire.

Your description of your service is confusing. You only have one service. Either it is on the garage or the house. It should not be in both locations. Where is your meter located? The panel closest to the meter would be your service panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:24 PM   #8
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


Four.

10/3 cable contains 4 conductors. The "3" only calls out the current carrying wires, the ground is understood.

Was that what was confusing you?
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:38 PM   #9
rookie
 
Neko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


my meter is located on the side of the garage which is a separate building about fifty feet away from the house and in that box there are two screw in fuses.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
New installations are required to be 4 wires. Both those receptacles shown are 4 wire.

Your description of your service is confusing. You only have one service. Either it is on the garage or the house. It should not be in both locations. Where is your meter located? The panel closest to the meter would be your service panel.
Neko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:55 PM   #10
rookie
 
Neko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


when i purchased the plug and receptacle at home depot she gave me the three wire dryer plug and said its universal, what ever the hell that means. Not really confused just listening to everyone. My manual that came with the dryer gives instructions with a three wire power cord or four wire but in every instance there is a warning that grounding through the neutral conductor is prohibited for new branch-circuit installations. Im running a new circuit.
Neko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 06:10 PM   #11
rookie
 
Neko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


Four.

10/3 cable contains 4 conductors. The "3" only calls out the current carrying wires, the ground is understood.

Was that what was confusing you?
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!




thanks for the advice I'm pretty confident that I can wing it. About four years ago I wired my first house by myself minus a dryer. The dryer was already wired in a separate garage.

Last edited by Neko; 12-20-2012 at 06:13 PM.
Neko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 06:40 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,835
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


When you install the 4 wire cord you will need to remove a bond strap inside the dryer near the wiring terminals. Your instructions should tell you how to do this.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:24 PM   #13
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


The person at Home Depot is clueless.

Say you are replacing an existing dryer. It used to be code to run 3 wires and have a 3 hole outlet on the wall.

Over time problems including shocks, overloads, and even fires were traced back to this 3 conductor wiring.

However, recognizing that to require a homeowner to spends hundreds of dollars to upgrade their wiring just to replace a dryer would be an extreme burden, a grandfather clause was inserted in the code.

So, if you are replacing an existing dryer and there is already a 3 wire plug there, you are allowed to use it.

In all new construction or any case where a new circuit has to be run and a new plug installed, you MUST use a 4 wire cable and outlet.

This is to protect you, your property, and anyone who uses the appliance.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TTW For This Useful Post:
Neko (12-21-2012)
Old 12-20-2012, 07:44 PM   #14
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


250.140 Frames of Ranges and Clothes Dryers. Frames
of electric ranges, wall-mounted ovens, counter-mounted
cooking units, clothes dryers, and outlet or junction boxes
that are part of the circuit for these appliances shall be
connected to the equipment grounding conductor in the
manner specified by 250.134 or 250.138.

Exception: For existing branch-circuit installations only
where an equipment grounding conductor is not present in
the outlet or junction box, the frames of electric ranges,
wall-mounted ovens, counter-mounted cooking units,
clothes dryers, and outlet or junction boxes that are part of
the circuit for these appliances shall be permitted to be
connected to the grounded circuit conductor if all the fol-
lowing conditions are met.

(1) The supply circuit is 120/240-volt, single-phase, 3-wire;
or 208Y/120-volt derived from a 3-phase, 4-wire, wye-
connected system.

(2) The grounded conductor is not smaller than 10 AWG
copper or 8 AWG aluminum.

(3) The grounded conductor is insulated, or the grounded
conductor is uninsulated and part of a Type SE service-
entrance cable and the branch circuit originates at the
service equipment.

(4) Grounding contacts of receptacles furnished as part of
the equipment are bonded to the equipment.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:28 PM   #15
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

adding a 30A 240 breaker for a new dryer


Getting electrical advice from Home Depot is like getting medical advice at Walgreens.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (12-20-2012), TTW (12-20-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Dryer Question 3 to 4 wire John3rd Electrical 8 10-24-2011 06:54 PM
New electric dryer install trips breaker cortell Electrical 8 08-29-2011 10:09 PM
Clothes dryer tripping main breaker bkc1974 Electrical 2 08-26-2011 11:18 PM
adding a new circuit breaker panel Lana65 Electrical 0 09-23-2010 05:39 PM
Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem jmreynol Electrical 3 04-28-2009 08:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.