Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2012, 10:18 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


I fixed the wires in the disconnect box. I'll get the compressor hooked up soon. Thanks for all the help. That didn't take long to correct!

mi_fiveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 10:26 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


Speedy, you know they make those suckers so cheap now, I was working on mine to put electrical grease on the blades, and the durn thing broke at the eye for the screw on the right side. For right now, I put the cover back on to hold it in place, until I can get a replacement.

As for the OP, make sure that you put electrical grease on the screws & the blades & contacts, while the breaker is off in the main panel. It will keep it from corroding over time. You can get the little packets at Auto-Zone or Advance Auto Parts.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (05-19-2012)
Old 05-18-2012, 11:30 PM   #18
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,566
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


Even though it's advertised as such, that compressor is not 5 HP. It's more like 3.

15 amps at 230 volts equals 3450 watts. 5 HP at 746 watts per HP equals 3730 watts.

If you have more watts out than you have in, you have more than perpetual motion. This is not possible.

A 20 amp breaker might hold, but maybe not. If it trips, it's perfectly code-compliant to use a 30 or 35 amp breaker with #12s to feed a 15 amp motor. It would even be compliant to use #14s with this motor and a 35 amp breaker.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (05-20-2012), mpoulton (05-19-2012), PaliBob (05-19-2012), silversport (05-18-2012), Speedy Petey (05-19-2012)
Old 05-19-2012, 07:27 AM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


That is one of those fake 5HP motors.
We all know a true 5HP motor will pull much more than 15A @ 240v.

You would go by the 15A number, NOT the 5HP number.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (05-20-2012)
Old 05-19-2012, 07:39 AM   #20
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
That is one of those fake 5HP motors.
We all know a true 5HP motor will pull much more than 15A @ 240v.

You would go by the 15A number, NOT the 5HP number.
Take it easy, I have one of those fake 5HP motors on my compressor.
It's run fine on a 15 amp circuit even in cold weather.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 07:54 AM   #21
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Take it easy, I have one of those fake 5HP motors on my compressor.
It's run fine on a 15 amp circuit even in cold weather.
So do I.
Mine is the same as the OP, but it says 3.2HP on the label, NOT 5HP.
Same electrical specs, but more CFM because mine is 135psi.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:29 AM   #22
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,808
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


Don't you know....it's "PEAK" HP.....

Sears got into trouble with some of it's stuff with that label and their 'generous' HP ratings.

Basically, they take the initial inrush current and calculate the HP based on that.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:37 AM   #23
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


It's like stereo amplifiers. They have a peak power rating and a continuous RMS power rating. Guess what gets advertised
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 11:46 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I do not believe a 20A circuit will be large enough for a 5 HP motor.
Even for a 100% efficient motor, you're right, and a motor this small is nowhere near 100% efficient.

5hpx746w/230v = 16A and at 85% efficiency it'd be 19A.

Any spin doctor can say 5 hp (it's not easy to verify) but all the spin doctors in the world cannot prevent an overloaded breaker from tripping (it's easy to verify).
You can complain to the FTC about this misleading advertising but almost certainly they are a Captive Regulatory Agency.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 05-19-2012 at 01:19 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Breaker trips when system is turned on. kbsparky Electrical 0 07-07-2011 09:02 PM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 04:31 PM
Table Saw trips breaker - need troubleshooting help Leah Frances Electrical 6 08-26-2009 10:41 PM
breaker trips when too much is used lightone Electrical 11 04-29-2007 10:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.