Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 10:17 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


Hello,

I currently have one light switch which operates an outlet in one of my bedrooms. I want to add a ceiling fan that has independent switches for the fan and light - but I want to make sure i'm wiring it correctly and safely.

Current (First Pic)- Live hot feeds into bottom of switch (bottom insert hole) and the all of the bedroom outlets (pig-tailed) tie into the bottom of the switch on the screw. Coming out of the top of the switch is one hot which feeds to a single outlet. All of the neutral and grounds are tied together.

New Plan (Second Pic)- Remove the constant outlet hot from the screw, add a new hot wire to the top of new switch and run a wire up to the attic for fan. Add another hot wire from the bottom of that switch to the third switch and run another wire up to the attic for the lights. Re-connect the constant outlet wire to the screw of the last switch. Connect all the neutrals and all of the grounds together.

At the top of the ceiling, connect the neutrals and grounds together with the fans neutral and ground. Connect the fan hot to the fan switch hot, and the fan light hot to the light switch hot.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light-old.jpg   Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light-new.jpg  


Last edited by adgjqetuo; 04-23-2012 at 10:19 AM.
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:11 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


Looks good except that you have a ground a white crossed at the fan.

Are the fan and the light two separate fixtures?

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


They are the same fixture. I believe it has one neutral, one ground and two hots (one light one fan). I was going to fuse all three whites, all three greens and give each its own hot.

Thanks for catching the cross wires, drawing error

Last edited by adgjqetuo; 04-23-2012 at 12:31 PM.
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 02:23 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


Then you need to run a three wire cable. It will have one white, bare, red and black. Use the red and black as the two switched wires. The fan should have a single white and ground for both and then a black for the fan and a blue or black with stripe for the light.

This drawing doesn't have as switch on the fan but you get the idea.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 04-23-2012 at 02:25 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


Ok cool. So basically the same thing, just less wires
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:29 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


So I drew it out with the new wire, but I came to a standstill with the grounds.

Do I connect all of these grounds to the main line? If so, I'm assuming I need an individual ground wire to connect in the switches?
Attached Thumbnails
Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light-wire.jpg  
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:02 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,022
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


are all 3 switches in the same box?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 09:06 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


Yes, all three switches will be in one box.
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 10:25 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,022
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


just add jumpers or pigtails to the incoming ground and attach each jumper to a switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light-wire.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 04:28 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,855
Rewards Points: 2,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


Connect all the grounds together in all the boxes.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 05:55 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


So I ran into another issue last night...I was pulling back some drywall to make room for the 3-gang box the stud to the left is 1/2" to close not making enough room for the box.

The wall is a short wall - only 12" total, so I guess the builder decided to stick a stud in the middle. I thought I would have enough room when using the stud finder, but it's clearly not the case.

So now I'm forced to use a 2-gang box instead of a 3. I thought at first my only option would be to buy a fan / light combo switch, but then I had another thought.

I don't really care to have the one outlet on the switch. Is it perfectly okay if I remove the far left switch and just add a wire lug on the hots? This would make the outlet a constant outlet, feeding from a single hot wire from the middle switch.

It just seems like a lot of "single" wires - which is a little odd to me.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light-after_wire2.jpg  

Last edited by adgjqetuo; 04-25-2012 at 08:43 AM.
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 06:43 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,022
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


Dont know if your 2 receptacles are in the same box or separated by wall space??
Attached Thumbnails
Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light-new-bitmap-image.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 06:57 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


Unfortunately I can't daisy chain the outlets together. The outlet which was operated on the switch is on the complete other side of the room. I have no way of linking the switch outlet to the others around the room besides right here in the box.

The box only houses a light switch.

Knowing this, is my above diagram still feasible? I'm not stepping outside of code or anything?

Last edited by adgjqetuo; 04-25-2012 at 07:00 AM.
adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 07:15 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,022
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


so the cables for each receptacle come into the switch box???
Attached Thumbnails
Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light-new-bitmap-image.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 07:25 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 409
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light


I apologize, let me clarify.

3 outlets around the room are daisy chained together, and the last outlets 14/2 wire feeds into the box and connects to the bottom of the switch screw. The live feed feeds into the back of the same switch through the push wire hole.

The single outlet which operates on the switch is on the complete other side of the room. The wire goes up into the attic and back down into the box and connects to the top of the switch.

I can't connect the outlet which is on the switch to the rest of the outlets because it's in the wall on the other side of the room. I can only connect it through the box itself.

Does this diagram help? It's my existing setup.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding 2 switches for Fan and Fan Light-before_wire.jpg  

adgjqetuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.