Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 08:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fenton, MO. 63026
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


I want to have 2 circuits in my shed. I have 7 open spots in the load center in the house. I need to know what I need and need to do to accomplish this. I assume that I will need a UF/B type of wire to run from the load center to a spot in the shed that will have a sub-panel. From that sub-panel I plan to distribute those two dedicated circuits out to two separate outlets inside of the shed.

I need to know what materials to purchase and how the wiring needs to be done in the load center and the sub-panel. Can someone assist?

meppwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:56 AM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,697
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by meppwc View Post
I want to have 2 circuits in my shed. I have 7 open spots in the load center in the house. I need to know what I need and need to do to accomplish this. I assume that I will need a UF/B type of wire to run from the load center to a spot in the shed that will have a sub-panel. From that sub-panel I plan to distribute those two dedicated circuits out to two separate outlets inside of the shed.

I need to know what materials to purchase and how the wiring needs to be done in the load center and the sub-panel. Can someone assist?
WHat are they supplying? If it is just receptacles and lighting, 12/3 UF will give you 2 circuits (MWBC), but without the need for a panel suitable for use as service equipment.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:44 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fenton, MO. 63026
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


they are supplying two separate dedicated circuits that will be used for outlets and lighting.
meppwc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:02 AM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,697
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


12/3 UF on a two pole breaker. If the circuit is GFI protected it can be 12" deep. Non GFI has to be 24" deep. If you are trenching I would run PVC conduit and run cable through the conduit. Lighting does not require GFI. Receptacles require GFI.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
12/3 UF on a two pole breaker. If the circuit is GFI protected it can be 12" deep. Non GFI has to be 24" deep. If you are trenching I would run PVC conduit and run cable through the conduit. Lighting does not require GFI. Receptacles require GFI.
You gonna mention a disconnecting means....
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-19-2012)
Old 09-19-2012, 10:22 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,712
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Except for a sleeve, I certainly would not want to pull UF in a conduit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-19-2012)
Old 09-19-2012, 10:24 AM   #7
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,697
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05

You gonna mention a disconnecting means....
Geeze. I wanted to save something for somebody else. Thanks for the pick up.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:45 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North and East Texas
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


So assuming the "shed" is detached, would that require a seperate ground rod and disconnect? I assume people do the 12/3 all the time and don't have issues but wouldn't code compliance be better?
Daltex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:19 PM   #9
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daltex View Post
So assuming the "shed" is detached, would that require a seperate ground rod and disconnect? I assume people do the 12/3 all the time and don't have issues but wouldn't code compliance be better?
Disconnecting means, yes. 225.31 NEC

Ground rods or other electrodes, no, if it is a single Multiwire Branch Circuit and contains an Equipment Grounding Conductor. 250.32 NEC.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:20 PM   #10
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,544
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daltex View Post
So assuming the "shed" is detached, would that require a seperate ground rod and disconnect? I assume people do the 12/3 all the time and don't have issues but wouldn't code compliance be better?
The MWBC (12/3) would not require a separate grounding electrode. It would require some type of disconnect at the shed.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
The MWBC (12/3) would not require a separate grounding electrode. It would require some type of disconnect at the shed.
Beat you by 10 seconds....
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
electures (09-19-2012)
Old 09-19-2012, 01:36 PM   #12
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,697
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by meppwc View Post
I want to have 2 circuits in my shed. I have 7 open spots in the load center in the house. I need to know what I need and need to do to accomplish this. I assume that I will need a UF/B type of wire to run from the load center to a spot in the shed that will have a sub-panel. From that sub-panel I plan to distribute those two dedicated circuits out to two separate outlets inside of the shed.

I need to know what materials to purchase and how the wiring needs to be done in the load center and the sub-panel. Can someone assist?
What version NEC has been adopted in your local?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 02:35 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North and East Texas
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Adding 2 Circuits From Main Panel to Shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Disconnecting means, yes. 225.31 NEC

Ground rods or other electrodes, no, if it is a single Multiwire Branch Circuit and contains an Equipment Grounding Conductor. 250.32 NEC.
Thanks for the clarification. I guess I was confused on it being a MBC and not a small sub panel.

Daltex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 10:49 AM
Adding a breaker to Main Lug Panel kst43368 Electrical 16 12-14-2011 07:22 AM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 12:43 AM
Main Panel / Service Upgrades gbe Electrical 12 11-06-2009 11:20 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 12:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.