Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2011, 08:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 301
Rewards Points: 264
Default

added new switches, one of 2 old switches doesn't work anymore


I had 2 switches in an electrical box, one did a light on the porch, one did the light outside. It had a 14/3 BX and a 14/2 BX.

I added a fan to the porch, so I needed 2 more switches in the box (one fan, one for the light on the fan)

I pulled the wire (14/3 and 14/2) to the box for the fan which went on a new breaker, those switches work great

on the old one, the neutrals in the box were tied, I left that. From the existing switches each switch had 2 screw downs (a and b we'll call them) B from switch one was tied to A from switch 2 (both were tied to a black which had a loop around B from switch 1 and finished on A from switch 2) This was the black wire from the 14/2 which I presume went back to the breaker from all I can tell.

the other 2 wires were tied back to other 2 wires from the 3 wire (the neutral already being tied off)

on the new switch (a leviton 2 switch in one slot switch I bought) I tied the black wire to one side (looped around one of the screws and ended on the other) and tied the 2 wires from the old 14/3 that weren't the neutrals to the other side and thought it'd be good.

Turns out only one of the lights works now. Did I do something wrong? I checked the power with one of those current detectors and when I flip the switch there is no power, but I don't see why.

It's too dark to start pulling it back out since flipping the breaker turns the lights off in that room, so any help is much appreciated.

MLMIB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

added new switches, one of 2 old switches doesn't work anymore


Maybve the switch unit is defective. Try switching the two wires from the old 14-e BX and see if the same light or the other light stops working.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:53 PM   #3
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

added new switches, one of 2 old switches doesn't work anymore


if i'm thinking of the right style of switch.

the hot from the 14/2 should go to the side of the switch with the small breakoff tab, the black and red from the existing 14/3 should go to the other side(one per screw)
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 09:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 301
Rewards Points: 264
Default

added new switches, one of 2 old switches doesn't work anymore


so this is the one I got...

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053
(search Leviton Decora 15 amp Single-Pole Double Rocker Switch if the link doesn't work)

the black wires on the left side from the way it's shown.

Also, there is no breakoff tab on this one which is a bit confusing. on the left side there is a piece of metal between the 2 screws but it doesn't have the obvious connection to the top and bottom as exists on electrical outlets.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
if i'm thinking of the right style of switch.

the hot from the 14/2 should go to the side of the switch with the small breakoff tab, the black and red from the existing 14/3 should go to the other side(one per screw)
MLMIB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 09:46 PM   #5
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

added new switches, one of 2 old switches doesn't work anymore


the hot goes to the brass color(should only need one connection), the loads to the blacks
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 09:52 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

added new switches, one of 2 old switches doesn't work anymore


Note, when measuring voltage at switches, do not measure from one switch terminal to another switch terminal. Measure from a switch terminal to neutral. (Or if you have more than novice electrical expertise you can make heads or tails out of measuring from a switch terminal to ground.)

Another way to test if a switch is defective is to remove the wire from at least one terminal you will put a test probe on and then use the ohms or continuity function of a multimeter. (Label the wires when taking them off of terminals.)

If there was a tab you were supposed to bend back and forth to snap off and you did not then you would get lights on all the time as opposed to not working.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 10:10 AM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

added new switches, one of 2 old switches doesn't work anymore


If you looped the black (hot) wire (14-2 BX) to both screws on one side of the switch and connected the loads (14-3 BX Red and Black) to the other side of the switch and you don't have power to these screws with the switch in ON, you have a bad switch.
Try swapping these two connections and the problem should change.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC contractor ripoff! sekntonone HVAC 8 04-05-2008 08:15 AM
Dimmer didn't work, now old light switches don't work properly townpump Electrical 9 03-16-2008 08:28 PM
grounding switches in old work plastic two gang box wkend2 Electrical 3 03-05-2008 01:33 PM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 07:09 PM
Switch Used to Work... mjmcneese Electrical 8 05-28-2007 03:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.