Add Undercabinet Lighting To Existing 3 Way Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 09:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Add undercabinet lighting to existing 3 way switch


Hello,

I'm a newbie to this blog but have been "lurking" for quite some time. Most of you on this site are professionals or at the least, from an electrical standpoint, more advanced than I am. So, I'll try to explain my situation but try to be gentle.

Recently I put this question on this site but probably didn't explain it well enough for it to make sense and never got an answer,so this is another effort. Sorry for the crude drawing but it's the best I've got.

What I'm trying to do is add undercabinet lighting to a kitchen and using LED lighting and hardwired. This should have its own switch so I want to add NM cable to an existing switch as shown in my drawing.

I've cut the sheetrock, drilled holes in the studs and ran the 14/2. Now I've tried every combination to attach the cable to switch number 2 in the dinning room but can't get power all of the time. I can get power when switch number one is on but not when it's off.

Can someone tell me the combination?

Thanks in advance,
Dale
Attached Thumbnails
Add undercabinet lighting to existing 3 way switch-electrical2.jpg  

Advertisement

Dale8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 12:23 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,347
Rewards Points: 3,488
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Add undercabinet lighting to existing 3 way switch


Your drawing is too small. I can't read it.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Add undercabinet lighting to existing 3 way switch


I'm trying to reformat the drawing and send another and better one but not having any luck.
Dale8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Add undercabinet lighting to existing 3 way switch


you can not tap in to a 3 way switch and power separate lights that are controlled by a different switch. if the power for the 3 way is in that box you can tap into that, but just connecting to wires on the 3 way will never work. in your drawing it looks like the power feeds to the box with 1 3-way and 1 single pole switch. where do you plan to put the new switch for the under cabinet lights? there is no hot wire in switch box 2 just wires for 3-way switches.

Last edited by DannyT; 10-21-2012 at 01:18 PM.
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Add undercabinet lighting to existing 3 way switch


DannyT.....I'm coming to the same conclusion that I just can't "splice" into any of the wires connected to the 3way switch because I've tried just about all combinations. I know my drawing is small and I can't seem to get it any better, but can you read it at all? Is their any way I can get a power source from either 3way in switch box 2 "before the 3 way outlet"? Does that make sense?
Dale
Dale8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
Hardwire undercabinet lighting? theatretch85 Electrical 19 04-22-2009 02:29 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM
adding 3-way switch to existing circuit msahaydak Electrical 4 02-18-2007 01:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts