Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-11-2013, 07:31 PM   #1

Share |

Add switches to basement lighting circuit

I have a single switch for all lights in the basement. Many don't need to be on at the same time. Is it legal to add a switch to the hot leg for each of the lights. I'm replacing the lights from simple screw in bulb bases to fluorescents.
I would take the 3 wires from the enclosure above the bulb base and run them to the new fixture with a branch in the hot wire to a wall switch and back to the fixture. OK?

Wow you guys are fast. As you can tell I'm not an electrician but I do understand electricity and schematics.
My basement has a single switch that turns on 7 bulbs. I want to use the existent wiring and add a switch to each light. I'll leave the bulb box in place (with a cover) and run new wire from each to the light fixture (7 each). I want to add a switch to the hot lead of each of the new fixtures. I'll be going from incandescent bulbs to florescent lamps so expect to use less power, and with the most most of the lights off anyway, I didn't consider power. I just wanted to know if it was the proper (or best) way to add control to the light fixtures. I don't want to run wire from the main lead in to basement, too expensive & I can't do much work over my head (back problems). I'll turn on the main switch and have an additional switch for each light.

Last edited by wmrhoward; 02-12-2013 at 11:33 AM. Reason: Clarification to original question
wmrhoward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:54 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmrhoward View Post
I have a single switch for all lights in the basement.
Many don't need to be on at the same time.
OK... Do that.

My basement has 4 switches set up.
One is a 3way between the top and bottom of the stairs to the kitchen