Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2013, 01:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


Anyone know of a manufacturer that has an add-on remote for a two-switch ceiling fan (three-wire fed)? We have a single switch for the fan and a single switch for the light and I would like the ability to control both functions via a remote and the wall switches while maintaining the ability to turn the light on-and-off via the light switch. Seems that the box stores remote receivers (Harbor Breeze and Honeywell) are only fed with two wires.

JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 01:42 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,777
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRCL View Post
Anyone know of a manufacturer that has an add-on remote for a two-switch ceiling fan (three-wire fed)? We have a single switch for the fan and a single switch for the light and I would like the ability to control both functions via a remote and the wall switches while maintaining the ability to turn the light on-and-off via the light switch. Seems that the box stores remote receivers (Harbor Breeze and Honeywell) are only fed with two wires.
Those are the only ones I have seen.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 01:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


Thanks. Any reason I can't/shouldn't pass the remote outputs through the wall switches to get my desired result? I figure this can be done by adding another 14/3.
JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 02:29 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


Get two remote control x10 wall switches and install them in place of the switches that are there now and get an x10 remote.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 02:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,536
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


An alternative method to get the results you are after is to purchase a remote system with a wall control and hand held unit.
http://www.honeywellstore.com/store/...mote-40015.htm

Put the wall control in place of one of your switches and use the wiring.
Remove the other switch and replace with a blank device.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Leviton-D...8#.UW734sqQPHU
Cap off the extra wires at both ends.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 02:41 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


x10 is a 4-letter-word at my house. Tried them a few years ago and got nothing but frustration. Ripped all the built-in outlets and switches out (about 13 devices in all) and gave it all away.

I'd rather not have a blank if it can be avoided.

Thank you for the thoughts though.
JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 02:50 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRCL View Post
x10 is a 4-letter-word at my house. Tried them a few years ago and got nothing but frustration. Ripped all the built-in outlets and switches out (about 13 devices in all) and gave it all away.

I'd rather not have a blank if it can be avoided.

Thank you for the thoughts though.
You could check out some of the options Leviton has for remote controlled switches I think they are much more expensive but worth a look if you don't like X10. I have seen some good X10 installs but maybe they are not as good as they used to be.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 03:00 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


I am looking into z-wave since it will intigrate with my home security system and thermostat.
JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 03:18 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,570
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


The wall switches will over-ride the remote. If the wall switch is off the remotes will not work.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 03:38 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


Jim, exactly the way I would want it to work. If I turn the switch to the off position, I want the fan or light (whichever switch is turned off) to turn off. I'd also perfer to have the fan or light remember what setting it was on before the switch was turned off so that when it is turned back on it goes to the last used setting. Seems like a reasonable use for a central light and circulation device. Still curious if I could run the remote output through the switches though... Maybe turn one of the switches into a dual switch and stick the remote module into the empied gang to prevent having to drop an extra 14/3 line (cathedral ceilings on the second story so not something I would be looking forward to doing)?
JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 04:43 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,570
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


The remote receivers mount in the fan canopy.

Regardless of last setting, you want to start a motor on high speed and then reduce the speed to preserve motor life.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 08:19 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Default

Add-on remote for two-switch ceiling fan


Jim, I understand that the receiver is meant to be installed in the ceiling fan. Just thinking out-of-the-box on how I can get the remote control functionality working the way I would like. My main concern with placing a switch in between the receiver and the fan components being controlled is what affect it may have on the receiver.

JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a ceiling fan with remote TGMcCallie Electrical 8 04-04-2013 10:14 PM
Ceiling fan remote issues Richo Electrical 7 06-06-2011 09:09 PM
Ceiling fan switch again ClaytonW Electrical 2 09-02-2010 10:44 AM
Hampton Bay Remote Ceiling Fan esqjd Electrical 16 01-14-2008 05:32 AM
New Switch / Ceiling Fixture - Help nelrolo3 Electrical 1 03-12-2004 06:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.