Add An Outlet Where A Light Is Now - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2012, 09:15 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 180
Rewards Points: 160
Default

add an outlet where a light is now


actually the red wire from the black cable goes directly to the light fixture like below
Attached Thumbnails
add an outlet where a light is now-new-20bitmap-20image.jpg  

Advertisement

rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:21 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 180
Rewards Points: 160
Default

add an outlet where a light is now


while I have some ears here, here is a shot looking down the rafter. Is it OK to have the loop of cable to way I have it. I left it there for when i want to add a few more outlets I will have the slack. The staples arent shown in the left but they are there.
Attached Thumbnails
add an outlet where a light is now-100_9692.jpg   add an outlet where a light is now-100_9693.jpg  

Last edited by rosem637; 12-17-2012 at 09:24 AM.
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:25 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 180
Rewards Points: 160
Default

add an outlet where a light is now


here are the two photos above somewhat cropped together
Attached Thumbnails
add an outlet where a light is now-7etetyrty.jpg  
rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 11:12 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 264
Rewards Points: 258
Default

add an outlet where a light is now


I would tack so it is neater, but that is me.
I would also move the black cable so it is farther away from the roof in case the next roofer uses longer nails and hits it. I think you want it at least 1 1/2" away.
The "Light Box" should also have cable clamps, or just get a new plastic box.

Last edited by tribe_fan; 12-17-2012 at 11:15 AM.
tribe_fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 11:33 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Michgan
Posts: 180
Rewards Points: 160
Default

add an outlet where a light is now


Quote:
Originally Posted by tribe_fan View Post
I would tack so it is neater, but that is me.
I would also move the black cable so it is farther away from the roof in case the next roofer uses longer nails and hits it.
How to do it neater on the loop of white cable. Good call on moving black cable a little lower from roof deck.

Advertisement

rosem637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing an end of the line outlet from the light switch lovetobuild Electrical 13 09-02-2012 01:07 PM
How to install an outlet to a light bulb fixture. enforcefx Electrical 2 10-17-2011 09:08 AM
hard wire from light switch and outlet pennyeagle Electrical 0 08-27-2011 02:00 PM
Changing 2 way switch to control light, not outlet? andysam Electrical 0 05-30-2011 10:20 PM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts