Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2009, 09:01 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Share |
Default

Add GFCI at panel to protect outside


I just want to make sure, is this ok to do? I want to locate and cut the wire that goes to my outside circuit and add a GFCI outlet and put the load on the "load" leads so the GFCI in the house protects the outside circuit.

If it matters my electrical panel is just above the washer and driver, and the wash tub is next to the washer. In fact while I'm at it my washer receptacle should probably be GFCI too right? It's about 3 feet from the wash tub.

Every time I plug my car in with my old extension cord, I'm a little nervous. I also need to replace that cord. It came with the house, and the previous owner was not very careful with the weed whacker.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 09:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Add GFCI at panel to protect outside


As long as the outside outlet does not pull power from a bathroom, kitchen or other required dedicated circuit

I always have the GFCI inside feeding a normal outlet outside from Load side
Many of my GFCI's (blank face) are installed at the panel
Easier to add in & easier for someone to find in the future

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 09:15 PM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Add GFCI at panel to protect outside


Great, that's what I'll do then. It's a dedicated circuit so I should be fine.

If ever I install a sump pump would there be anything against plugging it into that circuit? It will give me an idea of where to locate it to make this convenient in the future.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 09:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Add GFCI at panel to protect outside


My sump pump pulls 7a, which is less then 50% of a 15a circuit
I do not know of any restriction that would not allow this
Code (here) only requires an outside outlet, does not have to be dedicated
And my sump is not on a dedicated circuit
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
gfci in main feeding sub panel problem scott2332 Electrical 12 02-25-2009 11:17 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.