Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2011, 01:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

add breaker to ge tlm3020c


I have full panel and need two additional 15amp breakers. Door indicates I can use 1/2 size breakers but cannot find specs on box to determine if I can put 2 half size in one full size slot. Is there an "approved" solution or do I need a secondary panel? I would rather not look under every breaker to see if any can be doubled.

arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:20 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

add breaker to ge tlm3020c


Most newer GE panels can take slim breakers anywhere in the panel.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:50 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

add breaker to ge tlm3020c


My TM2030 allows THQP(1/2") breakers on the bottom 5 locations on both busses for a total of 10 locations.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 03:05 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

add breaker to ge tlm3020c


This one is 15 years old. I will check the bottom breakers.

I know it takes 1/2" but can I double them?
arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 04:02 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

add breaker to ge tlm3020c


Yes. A one inch space allows two 1/2" THQP breakers. Be advised this will only provide two 120 volt circuits, not a 240 volt circuit.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
arejohn (01-08-2011)
Old 01-08-2011, 05:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

add breaker to ge tlm3020c


Thanks guys. Only looked at bottom 3 left side and all will take 2 half size breakers.
arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 11:35 PM   #7
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

add breaker to ge tlm3020c


You can get whats called "non-CTL" breakers to make the 1/2 sizes.

However unless the bottom few tabs have slots in them that look different from the rest your panel is not SUPPOSED to have these half size breakers.

ALL panels made today are whats called CTL panels. Unless they specifically designate the ability to have more circuits with spaces, you arent supposed to put in "tandems" or half size breakers.
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 01:35 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

add breaker to ge tlm3020c


Panel is from 1995. Lower three full size slots have contacts that look like this
-|-. Would like to think what I am doing is up to code. I am not adding any additional current load. I need dedicated circuit for 110v gas furnace that replaced 220v gaspack. Since I am in there I am going to add dedicated circuit for communications equipment.

arejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Breaker box wiring question(s) janralix Electrical 6 08-29-2010 11:13 PM
Breaker Tripping Jeridmar6 Electrical 15 07-10-2010 09:20 PM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 05:31 PM
Sq D Trillaint Breaker problem jmreynol Electrical 3 04-28-2009 08:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.