Adapting 6-30P To 10-30R - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-29-2012, 09:27 PM   #1
Total Newbie

Rewards Points: 10

Adapting 6-30P to 10-30R

Hello - I'm brand new to posting here, but I've been reading a lot of posts here lately. This forum is incredibly helpful.

Anyhow, I've got a home heating conversion coming up that's going to take my furnace out of commission for a couple of days. I also have a really nice 240v, 5800watt space heater that should do a better job of heating the main part of the house than a bunch of little 1500 watt guys. Problem is, the space heater has a 6-30 plug, and my best bet for 240 in the house is my dryer receptacle, which is 10-30.

The dryer receptacle is the only thing on the circuit, and it goes directly to my main service panel (a Cuttler-Hammer with shared neutral/ground bars).

Now thinking through this here, since the "neutral" on the 10-30 goes to the exact same place as ground, is there any reason I shouldn't just build an adapter (10-30P, a foot or 2 of 8/3 romex, to 6-30R) and hook the ground from the 6-30R to the neutral on the 10-30P?

I could replace the receptacle, but the end result seems like it would be the same thing since I'd hook the hots and ground up to the same place as the hots and neutral are hooked up, and this way I won't have to swap the outlet back to use my dryer.

Thanks!
-Derek

Advertisement

coffee_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 10:09 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston

Adapting 6-30P to 10-30R

Would be just as cheap to grab the correct outlet for the plug to be safe.

Advertisement

Old 02-29-2012, 10:40 PM   #3
Total Newbie

Adapting 6-30P to 10-30R

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post