Activate Other Lights When Motion Light Activates - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2004, 09:24 PM   #1
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

activate other lights when motion light activates


Hey guys, need some possible solutions to this situation. I have a motion activated lantern that is switched from inside. I'm adding a row of potlights into my soffit and would like to tie them to this lantern so that when the latern turns on my pot lights will too. any ideas?

John

Advertisement

  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 10:26 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

activate other lights when motion light activates


I have an idea. Don't do it. The motion detectors built into those wall lights cannot handle the extra load of more lights.
You can get a separate motion detector to control all the lights but this gets involved. What is your level of wiring ability?

Have you considered an in wall timer to replace the switch?

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 09:23 PM   #3
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

activate other lights when motion light activates


Like Speedy said, don't do it. It won't handle the amps.
What you can do is attach the detector to a relay that can handle it but also make sure that the wiring to the relay can handle the load as well. You may want to add a new breaker and run for the exterior lights. It all depends on amps and distance. If in doubt, call in an electrician. It's cheaper than a house fire!
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 08:53 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

activate other lights when motion light activates


You really don't need a relay. The RAB Stealth has a 1000 watt rating, but they're more expennnnnsive{said with a whiny tone}.
If something is $15 at the mega store something similar at a supply house that is $60 must be a ripoff. No way it could be a much better unit, nah.


John, this is in no way directed toward you. I am just venting. :p
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM
Need help wiring 2 motion lights off one swithc poontz13 Electrical 2 08-10-2007 07:20 PM
Halogen motion sensor light stopped working, Incandescent still works keyser soze Electrical 6 05-29-2007 09:53 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 08:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts