Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2013, 01:27 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ACFI Question


the smoke detector circuit is also an "outlet"

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 04:53 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
the smoke detector circuit is also an "outlet"
Smoke alarm by NEC definition, just for general information, the state of Connecticut has an amendment not requiring smoke alarms to be supplied by an AFCI circuit.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 04:12 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Smoke alarm by NEC definition, just for general information, the state of Connecticut has an amendment not requiring smoke alarms to be supplied by an AFCI circuit.
Interesting .... so in a RESIDENTIAL setting ....it is not required to be on a lighting circuit ???
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 07:24 AM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
Interesting .... so in a RESIDENTIAL setting ....it is not required to be on a lighting circuit ???
Smokes are not required to be on any specific circuit. They are however required to be AFCI protected just by the nature of their location. Unless of course there is a local amendment in place.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:20 AM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
Interesting .... so in a RESIDENTIAL setting ....it is not required to be on a lighting circuit ???
No, why? I generally put them on a home run since I don't have to provide AFCI protection.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 11:20 AM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Smokes are not required to be on any specific circuit. They are however required to be AFCI protected just by the nature of their location. Unless of course there is a local amendment in place.

ok better stated ... smoke NOT on thier own circuit ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 11:28 AM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ACFI Question


I lernt that to put it on lighting circuits so it would be evident that something was wrong ie the lights don't work or that some will turn off the breaker if it was on its own ... RESIDENTIALLY of course ... not commerical.
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:42 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 274
Default

ACFI Question


Dont forget, soon you will be required to have gfci on wash room and dishwasher circuit too.Not sure but im assuming disposal circuit also.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:53 PM   #24
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
Dont forget, soon you will be required to have gfci on wash room and dishwasher circuit too.Not sure but im assuming disposal circuit also.
Huh? Where are you getting this from?
And if it's not code now what does it matter?
And what are you calling a "wash room"?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:59 PM   #25
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,160
Default

ACFI Question


He has been reading 2014 code change articles. The wash room reference is to laundry room receptacles.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 02:26 PM   #26
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
I lernt that to put it on lighting circuits so it would be evident that something was wrong ie the lights don't work or that some will turn off the breaker if it was on its own ... RESIDENTIALLY of course ... not commerical.
I learned not to believe anything anyone says and look it up myself... usually the best course of action. Also, there IS no residential NEC and Commercial NEC...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (09-17-2013)
Old 09-16-2013, 02:12 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
The NEC requires all OUTLETS to be AFCI protected, this actually equates to receptacle, lighting outlets, and the like... you need to read the NEC definitions of an outlet, and not just assume an outlet is a receptacle...
I didn't assume that. Go back and read my original post. I accept that it is what the code requires, I was just looking for the why.

Notice that joed and rjniles actually answered the question I asked.

To follow up, are arcs in lighting fixtures that much of a problem?
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:28 PM   #28
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,160
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
To follow up, are arcs in lighting fixtures that much of a problem?
With more and more lighting fixtures and/or controls being installed by doofus homeowners that do not have a clue, I believe that the problem is growing.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:38 PM   #29
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,488
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

ACFI Question


Here is a good example.....

This can light was installed in my in-laws house by a licensed contractor about a year before I found this problem....

Not the best picture....but the black area on the Wego connector is carbon.



I'm not going to place any blame....it could have been a mistake on his part or a bad Wego connector. (I personally don't care too much for them)
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 04:12 PM   #30
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Here is a good example.....

This can light was installed in my in-laws house by a licensed contractor about a year before I found this problem....

Not the best picture....but the black area on the Wego connector is carbon.



I'm not going to place any blame....it could have been a mistake on his part or a bad Wego connector. (I personally don't care too much for them)
So, do you think the AFCI will detect this and trip?

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 01:48 PM
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.