Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2013, 05:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

ACFI Question


So, Im rewiring the entire house. I plan on having GFCI breakers in the kitchen and bathroom area. I heard that it is now code to have AFCI's in bedrooms and living areas, is that true? I was thinking maybe just the bedrooms? The reason being is because they are very expensive. Could I get away with not even having any AFCI's?

biddlecom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:03 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

ACFI Question


Wow. If you're asking this I would STRONGLY suggest you get a code book and a few other good books on home wiring. At this point in time this is a very basic question, anbd you need to have the basics down pat before you even drill your first hole.

Also, codes do vary from area to area. Knowing your location would help with that. At least your state.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:07 AM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

ACFI Question


First thing you need to look up is what code cycle your state is on.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

ACFI Question


My state is Maine

Back when I went to school for electrical it was not required to use AFCIs. I haven't look at anything electrical in about 10 years so im a little behind on the new code. So any help would be great. Thank you
biddlecom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:14 AM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by biddlecom View Post
My state is Maine

Back when I went to school for electrical it was not required to use AFCIs. I haven't look at anything electrical in about 10 years so im a little behind on the new code. So any help would be great. Thank you
I'm not sure what code cycle the state of Maine is on, but that info will definitely tell you where AFCI's are required.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:44 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by biddlecom View Post
My state is Maine

Back when I went to school for electrical it was not required to use AFCIs. I haven't look at anything electrical in about 10 years so im a little behind on the new code. So any help would be great. Thank you
2005 code required anything in BEDROOMS to be ACFI ....


2008 expanded it ... to include most areas .. less KITCHEN and BATH
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 02:43 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ACFI Question


maine is on 2011 but your local jurisdiction may have amendments/modifications. for example, wisconsin in on 2008 but it has 3 or 4 pages of legislative code which modifies a few sections of the 2008 nec specifically for wisconsin.

2011 at 'face value' more or less requires afci protection everywhere except outdoor circuits, garages, kitchens, bathrooms and certain fix-mounted equipment (i.e. air conditioner, furnace, etc.).
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 05:04 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

ACFI Question


NEC 2011:




Section 210.12(A) requires that AFCI protection be provided for all 15- and 20-ampere, 120-volt branch circuits that supply outlets (including receptacle, lighting, and other outlets; see definition of outlet in Article 100) located throughout a dwelling unit other than outlets installed in kitchens, bathrooms, unfinished basements, garages, and outdoors. Because circuits are often shared between a bedroom and other areas such as closets and hallways, providing AFCI protection on the complete circuit would comply with 210.12. There is no prohibition against using AFCI protection on other circuits or locations other than those specified in 210.12(A).
******************************************
CHANGE FROM 2005 to

For the 2008 Code, 210.12(B) requires that AFCI protection be provided for all 15- and 20-ampere, 120-volt branch circuits that supply outlets (including receptacle, lighting, and other outlets; see definition of outlet in Article 100) located throughout a dwelling unit other than outlets installed in kitchens, bathrooms, unfinished basements, garages, and outdoors. Because circuits are often shared between a bedroom and other areas such as closets and hallways, providing AFCI protection on the complete circuit would comply with 210.12. There is no prohibition against using AFCI protection on other circuits or locations other than those now specified in 210.12(B).
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 12:03 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

ACFI Question


I understand why they are mandated on receptacles, but if you have separate circuits for lighting, why are they needed? I know code says they are needed, but what is the reasoning behind the requirement.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 12:48 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,860
Rewards Points: 2,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

ACFI Question


Lighting get loose connections that can cause fires, as well as receptacles
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 12:48 PM   #11
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,115
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by herdfan View Post
I understand why they are mandated on receptacles, but if you have separate circuits for lighting, why are they needed? I know code says they are needed, but what is the reasoning behind the requirement.
You can have an arc fault on a lightjng circuit also.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 08:52 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by herdfan View Post
I understand why they are mandated on receptacles, but if you have separate circuits for lighting, why are they needed? I know code says they are needed, but what is the reasoning behind the requirement.
The NEC requires all OUTLETS to be AFCI protected, this actually equates to receptacle, lighting outlets, and the like... you need to read the NEC definitions of an outlet, and not just assume an outlet is a receptacle...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 09:46 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

ACFI Question


are these needed under 2002 NEC ?
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 10:25 AM   #14
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,488
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
2005 code required anything in BEDROOMS to be ACFI ....


2008 expanded it ... to include most areas .. less KITCHEN and BATH


From the above one could infer that they are not....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
are these needed under 2002 NEC ?
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 10:29 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

ACFI Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
From the above one could infer that they are not....
after i posted that. i looked on my towns www. there is no mention of them

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 01:48 PM
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.