Acer 5742Z Power Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 05:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Acer 5742Z power wire


Hi. I had a break in the power wire, not the socket side, so I cut the wire back, and then re twisted both wires. I get nothing if I do both, but if I do either one of the wires on their own, I get the power light come on in the power block but nothing else. Any idea why this is ? And how I can sort it ? Oh, I also covered them in E tape.

Ben

Advertisement

BenDansie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:07 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Acer 5742Z power wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by BenDansie View Post
Hi. I had a break in the power wire, not the socket side, so I cut the wire back, and then re twisted both wires. I get nothing if I do both, but if I do either one of the wires on their own, I get the power light come on in the power block but nothing else. Any idea why this is ? And how I can sort it ? Oh, I also covered them in E tape.

Ben
Huh! Come again in English.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:17 PM   #3
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Acer 5742Z power wire


this is for a laptop??
i know a replacement power cord can br pricey, but it is recommended you just buy a new one.

just for curiosity, which part of the cord is broken??
the one that goes from the brick to the outlet, or where it goes from the brick to the lappy??
__________________
Knowledge is Power, but 240v can Keel You!!
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:58 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Acer 5742Z power wire


The Brick to the laptop. And it isn't a forever it's until I can get a new cord.

Thanks,

B
BenDansie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 05:51 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,476
Rewards Points: 1,308
Default

Acer 5742Z power wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by BenDansie View Post
Hi. I had a break in the power wire, not the socket side, so I cut the wire back, and then re twisted both wires. I get nothing if I do both, but if I do either one of the wires on their own, I get the power light come on in the power block but nothing else. Any idea why this is ? And how I can sort it ? Oh, I also covered them in E tape.

Ben
You either have the polarity of the wires wrong or there is a short between the 2 wires at your splice or farther towards the laptop. Hooking both wires up completes the problem path and loads the power block down, shutting off the power light.

Or....something has been damaged inside the laptop. Pull the cord from the laptop and see if you get the same results.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get power to a new ceiling fan? sestivers Electrical 12 04-25-2011 03:11 PM
Help with Two Switches & Two Lights simplyphp Electrical 36 11-25-2010 03:47 PM
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 11:44 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts