Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 07:06 AM   #1
Member
 
langless28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 166
Share |
Default

acceptable method for outlet location


for a outlet in a cabinet (specifically the microwave).


with the wire pre-placed in the wall and the drywall and cabinets up, can you cut through the backside of the cabinet and drywall and install an old work box flush with the inside back cabinet face? is that ok for a outlet for the gd/dw under the cabinets as well?

langless28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 07:37 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,733
Default

acceptable method for outlet location


Overly discussed topic on here.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 07:47 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

acceptable method for outlet location


That is fine.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:38 AM   #4
Member
 
langless28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 166
Default

acceptable method for outlet location


thanks, i figured it was a common question but not a whole lot came up with the search terms i used.
langless28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:43 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,580
Default

acceptable method for outlet location


Easyest, most accurate, safest way to cut the hole would be with an ossilating saw.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:45 AM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,563
Default

acceptable method for outlet location


Oldwork is fine and does not require GFI protection.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to attach Fresh Air intake location on return plenum Haggis HVAC 25 09-25-2012 06:18 PM
Need help choosing the easiest method for skim coating fortunecookies Drywall & Plaster 2 03-05-2011 03:09 PM
Proper method for well pump wires coming through wall theedudenator Electrical 3 02-10-2010 11:10 PM
Over 8 Foot Wall - Method of Applying Sheathing... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 14 08-20-2006 07:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.