Acceptable To Fix An Open Ground Like This: ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2011, 02:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Acceptable to fix an open ground like this: ?


Hi I was recently installing a new ceiling fan and discovered that the circuit has an open ground, then discovered that all boxes in the circuit are open as well. I found two places in the attic where the ground wires were left un-spliced (looked like on purpose), thought that was it for sure but negative. So I assume that the ground is not connected where it originates, at the panel. Do I need to trace this cable (not very accessible) back to the panel to fix OR can I cut another run of cable (different circuit) in the attic with a known good ground, put in a junction box and tap into the ground, then run a single ground wire from that junction box to the three boxes with the open ground that are all fairly accessible?

Advertisement

Rod Barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 02:41 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,032
Rewards Points: 2,862
Default

Acceptable to fix an open ground like this: ?


In a properly wired system, all the splices should be contained in accessible junction boxes. You may just need to make the splices in the boxes and check the panel. Any metal boxes would also need to be bonded to the grounding conductor.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 02:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Acceptable to fix an open ground like this: ?


Thanks Jim.
The grounds are all connected to the metal boxes (now) however I don't think its connected at the other end. I shy away from the panel because I don't have experience working in the panel.
Rod Barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 04:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Acceptable to fix an open ground like this: ?


If you need to run a new ground wire because you are unsure of whether the circuit (even with some existing ground wires) is grounded then you must run the new ground wire all the way to the panel ground bus. But if the new ground wire should reach the fat ground wire (grounding electrode conductor) between the panel and the ground rod or water pipe first you can clamp the new ground wire on there.

When several things (receptacles, etc.) on the same circuit need grounding and you strung a new separate ground wire, generally they can all join the same ground wire instead of each having its own ground wire home run running alongside the others back to the panel.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-07-2011 at 04:39 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Outlet Open Ground!!!! Audiotekm Electrical 21 06-14-2011 08:38 AM
open ground uj1223 Electrical 6 06-08-2011 11:35 PM
Open Ground in Non Daisy Chained Outlet Circuit RileyRR Electrical 2 05-18-2011 03:00 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 09:40 AM
gfis w open ground brokenhammer Electrical 3 03-24-2010 09:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts