AC Wiring Troubleshooting - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2012, 09:13 AM   #1
Bill Traver
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 121
Rewards Points: 89

AC Wiring Troubleshooting

I have a tenant who is having problems with their AC window unit. Their apartment is all 15 AMP fuses (4 circuits total).

Their AC window unit is rated at 12 AMP but is about 12+ years old. It will cycle on and off for a bit then pop a fuse. They tried putting a power strip in but that would pop also.

My opinion is that the load being pulled on start-up to get the unit going goes over 15 amps .... they have tried plugging in to a few of the circuits ... one which had literally nothing else on it.

Is my opinion correct? Could this be pointing to something in my wiring (some lines are older (figure mid-late 50s).



JPM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 09:57 AM   #2
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,447
Rewards Points: 2,996

AC Wiring Troubleshooting

The air conditioner filter and possibly the finned cooling panel could be clogged with dust and dirt.

The air conditioner could have insufficient Freon or Freon line contamination (or excess Freon from an imperfect servicing/recharge).

These conditions can cause the compressor to strain and draw excessive amperage.

You could use an ammeter to measure the current draw. They make convenient actual reading (not clamp on) ammeters too, you plug the appliance into the meter and plug the meter into the receptacle. These cost about $25. at stores like Home Depot.


Do you get coverage you can count on? From the bag of fertilizer? From your lawn sprinklers?

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-30-2012 at 10:03 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 11:11 AM   #3
E2 Electrician
stickboy1375's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970

AC Wiring Troubleshooting

12 year old AC unit? Yeah, time to upgrade. 12 amps is 80% of a 15 amp circuit and falls within the scope of cord and plug equipment not fastened in place, so the issue is with the appliance itself.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:44 PM   #4
as seen on tv
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150

AC Wiring Troubleshooting

As stated before clean condenser coil,then try
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 10:46 AM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 10:43 AM
Old wiring to new wiring Acworld34 Electrical 3 07-11-2011 11:00 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts