AC Subpanel Has DP 40A While Main Panel Has DP 30A - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2009, 04:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75
Default

AC Subpanel has DP 40A while Main Panel has DP 30A


I'm wondering why they did it that way.

Advertisement

unixb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 06:28 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

AC Subpanel has DP 40A while Main Panel has DP 30A


The circuit is protected with the 30 amp breaker. The 40 amp is just a disconnecting means. Most use a 60 amp non-fused pull out disconnect.

I think this sounds like what you're talking about.

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 09:33 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

AC Subpanel has DP 40A while Main Panel has DP 30A


I don't think your talking about the main breaker.Your just talking about bearkers in general and if that is the case it doesn't matter.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
add subpanel or replace main panel... red86yota Electrical 3 12-04-2008 10:43 AM
Determining Main Panel Load with Subpanel added Randell Tarin Electrical 2 04-11-2008 02:21 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 01:24 AM
Add subpanel or upgrade main panel dcoz Electrical 1 01-12-2006 10:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts