AC Relay For Barn.... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009, 07:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Relay for Barn....


I have 4 box fans in my barn that I want to be wired to a motion sensor. I've decided that I need to wire the motion detector to a relay and the relay from the outlet to the fans. Unfortunately I don't know what relay to get or from where.

I did find this but not sure it would be the right application..

http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/items/5LE35

Advertisement

silly34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 07:58 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,639
Rewards Points: 1,072
Default

AC Relay for Barn....


That relay will work as long as the total HP of the fans doesn't exceed 1/3. The 5LE36 will handle up to 1 HP.

You can also install a switch across the NO contacts to serve as a manual override.

Rob

Advertisement

micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:01 PM   #3
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

AC Relay for Barn....


Separate control volts from motor volts using contactors, relay and motion sensor?
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

AC Relay for Barn....


xxxxxx

Last edited by Yoyizit; 06-21-2009 at 10:04 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Relay for Barn....


Quote:
Originally Posted by silly34 View Post
I have 4 box fans in my barn that I want to be wired to a motion sensor. I've decided that I need to wire the motion detector to a relay and the relay from the outlet to the fans. Unfortunately I don't know what relay to get or from where.

I did find this but not sure it would be the right application..

http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/items/5LE35
If the current draw on the box fans is small (They might not be effective), you don't need a relay. You can hook the motion sensor directly (in series) to the fans. On the other hand, if they're large fans, you can't run the power supply from an outlet. The starting current will trip the breaker!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 10:42 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

AC Relay for Barn....


Do you plug these fans into receptacles or are they hard wired? Box fans? What do you mean? The best way to control any motor loads is with a motor starter. You can get very good quality and very inexpensive motor starters. Try www.wegelectric.com Search for "CW" miniature contactors. Under $50.00 for one.
Just wire the sensor to engage the starter. The starter is just like a switch. If you go with a 3 phase starter you will have three NO contacts assigned for the motor and one NO relay you can also use for a motor under 10 amp. This way you only need one. They are designed to start 3 phase motors, but you can use each individual pole for each individual fan. However, all the fans will come on at one time. If you need independent control, you need a starter for each motor. The neutral does not need to be switched. Someone here with drawing software can post a drawing for you, how to hook it up.

These starters/contactors are just as cheap as relays. Relays work the same way and can be used if you like.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 11:30 AM   #7
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,301
Rewards Points: 1,054
Default

AC Relay for Barn....


silly34-I'll not second guess what you do with your "stuff" and your business, but why would you want to wire these fans up to a "motion sensor"? I'm just trying to understand what would cross the "motion sensor" to turn the fans on/off? Thanks, David
Thurman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 01:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

AC Relay for Barn....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
silly34-I'll not second guess what you do with your "stuff" and your business, but why would you want to wire these fans up to a "motion sensor"? I'm just trying to understand what would cross the "motion sensor" to turn the fans on/off? Thanks, David
Livestock require ventilation just like we do. Especially Hogs and chickens.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Irrigation pump relay rdy2go Electrical 2 06-01-2009 10:42 PM
Relay help required - alternating ground roleystoner Electrical 6 04-16-2009 12:34 PM
newbie...relay problems jfabes Electrical 11 05-06-2008 05:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts