Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2013, 07:45 PM   #31
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Do we know the specs on the AC unit? 30 amps may trip when the unit starts.
30 is the largest fuse that can fit in this disconnect box. IF they blow, then a non-fusible disconnect switch will have to be installed, or dummy fuses installed.

My experience is that dummy fuses are more expensive than a non-fusible disconnect.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (04-21-2013)
Old 04-21-2013, 07:46 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Do we know the specs on the AC unit? 30 amps may trip when the unit starts.
No, I don't have any specs right now, but the breaker held, and the fuses didn't blow.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:47 PM   #33
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
30 is the largest fuse that can fit in this disconnect box. IF they blow, then a non-fusible disconnect switch will have to be installed, or dummy fuses installed.

My experience is that dummy fuses are more expensive than a non-fusible disconnect.
I want to see the specs on the AC unit now...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:47 PM   #34
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
No, I don't have any specs right now, but the breaker held, and the fuses didn't blow.
The nameplate on the AC unit will tell you everything you need to know... how did you size the 10-2 to the DISCO without specs?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:49 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I want to see the specs on the AC unit now...
Well, CRAP!














How 'bout tomorrow, same battime, same batchannel?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:49 PM   #36
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Well, CRAP!














How 'bout tomorrow, same battime, same batchannel?

awesome...
just take a picture of it.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (04-21-2013)
Old 04-21-2013, 07:49 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
The nameplate on the AC unit will tell you everything you need to know... how did you size the 10-2 to the DISCO without specs?
I went by the existing install.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:51 PM   #38
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I went by the existing install.
So basically, you just replaced the disco? You really need to address the wiring method going from the DISCO to the AC unit.. it wont burn the house down, but since you went this far, might as well fix the rest of the job.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:52 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
So basically, you just replaced the disco? You really need to address the wiring method going from the DISCO to the AC unit.. it wont burn the house down, but since you went this far, might as well fix the rest of the job.
hang on just a sec, I'm gonna look fer sumptin'
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:55 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


well, chit, again, didn't find what I wanted, but the "wiring method" was simply 10-3 from disco to AC. No Carflex or whip, just Romex.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:57 PM   #41
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
well, chit, again, didn't find what I wanted, but the "wiring method" was simply 10-3 from disco to AC. No Carflex or whip, just Romex.
Romex ( NM type wiring) is only good for dry locations. no good outside... either replace it with UF or more commonly carflex and thwn is used.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:58 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Of course, I didn't get any after-shots, but here's some befores You'll have to trust that they're pretty NOW.
Attached Thumbnails
AC Disconnect Switch-panel.jpg  
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:02 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Don't know how much you can tell about the AC from the one far-away shot.
Attached Thumbnails
AC Disconnect Switch-garage_laundryrm.jpg   AC Disconnect Switch-picture-025.jpg   AC Disconnect Switch-picture-029.jpg  
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:03 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Romex ( NM type wiring) is only good for dry locations. no good outside... either replace it with UF or more commonly carflex and thwn is used.
OK, I'll check that out for sure.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:04 PM   #45
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

AC Disconnect Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
OK, I'll check that out for sure.
You dont have to jump on it, just put it on your list of items to address.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (04-21-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Disconnect equipment switch agent99 Electrical 7 06-30-2012 12:52 PM
How to disconnect an outlet from a light switch mattjarvinen Electrical 2 08-25-2011 11:53 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.