Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2013, 02:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Post

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


I am having to replace the condenser fan motor due to bad bearing/burn out. Here's where i am in the process:

Got the new motor. The old one had 3 wires, red, brown and black. The new one has brown, brown/white stripes, black, and white.
I also got a new run capacitor. This is NOT a dual cap. Some weeks ago, i had to replace the capacitor but somehow could not get the dual, so i have to separate one. Start and run.

OK, so, I got most of the wiring straight now. The brown and brown/white go to the run cap, while the black and the white will go the contactor. However, with the last 3 -wire set-up), there was a black wire that connected the run cap to the start cap.
So my question is: what do i do with this black wire now that i have the two brown wires connected to the run cap? Does it mean that one of the terminals on the Start capacitor will be useless and i should cap it off?

Second issue has to do with hooking up fan blade: new motor shaft is way to long and i need to cut it. HOwever, even when it will be cut, i wont be able to get blade all the way up against motor as blades would it sides of it as well as some bolts from motor casing. So question is: will the set screw stay in pace and be strong enough to hold blade in place even if located mid-shaft?

Thanks!

alimimoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:18 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


Hook the motor up according to the diagram on the motor.

Disregard how the other "other" motor was hooked up.

Any unused wire, just remove them.

Sounds like you bought a "universal replacement motor" if the shaft is longer, as long as it doesn't hit the compressor or anything else, there's no need to cut it.

Also, on those motors, any mounting studs can be cut if you don't need them.

I guess I should add, don't remove the nuts from the studs.


Last edited by wirenut1110; 08-29-2013 at 03:22 PM.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


Thanks so much for this helpful reply!! So if i'm getting you right, it doesn't matter that one of the terminals on the start capacitor will be unused? if so, then i got this straight

Yes, the shaft was hitting top of compressor when i put everything back, so i;'m having to cut it.

also, any suggestion regarding my concerns regarding the mounting of the blade?
Thanks again
alimimoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:35 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


As long as the set screw is on the shaft and tight, it'll be fine.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 03:42 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


Great! thank you
alimimoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:20 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


Did the work last night and everything works like a charm. I had to cut the shaft, but that's the only adjustment that was needed

Thanks again
alimimoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 11:20 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


Quick update since fixing the issue:
The unit outside is vibrating. It didn't use to do that. Could this be due to fan out of balance? The blades did not get or damaged that i can recall..but. could they have been put slightly out of balance when tightening the set screw?
Thanks.
alimimoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 11:22 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


Quote:
Originally Posted by alimimoun View Post
Did the work last night and everything works like a charm. I had to cut the shaft, but that's the only adjustment that was needed

Thanks again

I'm guessing your problem stems from the above.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:33 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


Don't know how your motor was mounted but make sure it's in there square if it has the strap around it.

Make sure all the bolts/nuts are made up tight.

You can find a fixed point on your condenser and measure to each blade to see if any of them are bent.

Also, was the shaft size the same as the old motor?

k buz: they make these universal replacement motors with long arse shafts on them so, some require shortening. Usually, if it doesn't hit the compressor or something else in there you can leave 'em long.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:57 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


thanks for that.
Yes, the shaft is the same size. it's not hitting anything, so i'm leaving it the way it is

SOmeone told me somehting about a drain plug i should take out. ANy idea what this is?

THanks
alimimoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:27 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

AC Condenser fan motor eplacement issues


Yeah it's a condensate drain plug.

Remove it, it's usually a little black plug on each end.

Edit: remove the plug that will be on the bottom. Leave the one in the top so water can't get in

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
condenser fan motor, hvac, wiring diagram


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rubber condenser feet? taxmantoo HVAC 5 07-14-2013 02:13 PM
Spray foam - code issues? upinsmoke Building & Construction 1 05-10-2010 07:47 PM
Heat and Condenser running at same time emmark22 HVAC 2 01-12-2010 12:28 AM
AC Condenser source of ignition? hrjrkr HVAC 4 09-16-2009 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.