AC Breaker Trips On Generator - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2012, 06:48 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,524
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
a 5 ton unit is WAY over a 7 kw generator, I have a 3 ton unit and a 7kw generator and it won't start it...
Do you have a hard start kit on the condenser?

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:51 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Do you have a hard start kit on the condenser?
No, I don't, but seriously, I'm already drawing 12-15 amps with just the house, so no way I'm i going to fire off a 3 ton unit. I have a 2 stage heat pump by the way, and last winter storm I wanted to try and use it just out of curiosity, hate burning oil.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:53 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,524
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
No, I don't, but seriously, I'm already drawing 12-15 amps with just the house, so no way I'm i going to fire off a 3 ton unit.
For the heck of it, install a hard start kit on the compressor and try it. The hard start kit will help the compressor start under normal operation no matter what, so its not a waste of money.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:56 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
For the heck of it, install a hard start kit on the compressor and try it. The hard start kit will help the compressor start under normal operation no matter what, so its not a waste of money.
If these things are so great, why don't they come pre equipped with every unit right out of the factory? Im a little sepecious of these kinds of items.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 07:19 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,524
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
If these things are so great, why don't they come pre equipped with every unit right out of the factory? Im a little sepecious of these kinds of items.
One very simple reason. MONEY. The manufacturers save money by not putting them in every unit they make. however, many of the highest end units do come with them installed from the factory.

A hard start kit doesn't lower the amp draw of start up. It does however decrease the amount of time it takes to get the compressor moving. It decreases it so much. That many techs using standard meters that don't respond very fast, only see a small amount of the actual amp draw on their meters, and think it decreases amp draw.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
zappa (07-10-2012)
Old 07-09-2012, 07:28 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,524
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Also. On another web site. A poster said his 2.5 ton wouldn't start using his XG8000E Generac. He put a har start on and it started it. he also found his unit had one from the factory. But it had burned out sometime before he connected the A/C to the gennie. And that is why it wouldn't start originally.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 02:49 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


How about this: Install a shaft extension on the A/C compressor. Couple the extension to gearing, and a pressure clutch. Rig up one of those exercise bicycles to the gearing, clutch and shaft extension.

Git the wife on that there bicycle when it's hot and humid outside, and git her to peddlin' like a bat-outta-Hell, (or like your mother-in-law, that is...): Rig up a centrifugal bell-ringer, and a remote clutch-engagement release, and generator starter.
When the bell rings, engage the clutch, and seconds later remotely start the generator. Change the channel, and crack another cold 'un...why, the wife's loosin' weight...and its gittin' cooler by the mo'. Who need a hard start...?
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:57 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by kontoose View Post
How about this: Install a shaft extension on the A/C compressor. Couple the extension to gearing, and a pressure clutch. Rig up one of those exercise bicycles to the gearing, clutch and shaft extension.

Git the wife on that there bicycle when it's hot and humid outside, and git her to peddlin' like a bat-outta-Hell, (or like your mother-in-law, that is...): Rig up a centrifugal bell-ringer, and a remote clutch-engagement release, and generator starter.
When the bell rings, engage the clutch, and seconds later remotely start the generator. Change the channel, and crack another cold 'un...why, the wife's loosin' weight...and its gittin' cooler by the mo'. Who need a hard start...?
..and put the video of it on youtube!
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:25 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Here, here...!
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:26 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
If these things are so great, why don't they come pre equipped with every unit right out of the factory? Im a little sepecious of these kinds of items.
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:30 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


.....
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:34 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


I will be contacting my local HVAC supply houses, but what guidelines and data should I use for selecting a hard start kit for my particular 2.5 ton central AC?
My surge is about 4-1/2 times normal draw.

If I get a 5 kw portable gen that can run my central AC, this would be very good news. Without the kit it looks like a 14 to 20 kw gen.

The min operating voltage is on the nameplate. If I hook up the gen with a skinny cord I will reduce both surge and steady-state current.

Thanks, BT. . .

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-11-2012 at 04:40 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:46 PM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,524
Rewards Points: 4,686
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


CSR U1, although I've used the U2 on 2.5 tonners a few times now.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 03:49 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


No...(heehee): Don't use a "skinny cord"! That is exactly the opposite of the remedy of the source problem here...
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 09:16 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

AC breaker trips on generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
CSR U1, although I've used the U2 on 2.5 tonners a few times now.
What made you decide either way, U1 or U2? Is there no disadvantage to using the U2 on the smaller ACs? The price seems to be same, either way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kontoose View Post
No...(heehee): Don't use a "skinny cord"! That is exactly the opposite of the remedy of the source problem here...
I'm not so sure.
You have the generator transient response, the AC transient current demand vs. duration, the line resistance including the cabling and whatnot, and the service lifetimes of the gen and AC, and these are all interdependent.
Adjusting the series resistance may be an option, depending on what minimum line voltage is spec'd for the AC.

If my o'scope still works, and if I can find my 0.01 ohm shunt, I'll have to see what kind of starting transient current my AC pulls, and the waveshape (which I assume is an exponentially damped sine wave).

Advertisement


Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-12-2012 at 09:31 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding 220 20A breaker but it trips when turned on mi_fiveo Electrical 23 05-19-2012 12:46 PM
Well pump trips breaker at start, but then starts when breaker reset J. David Electrical 34 02-25-2012 12:23 PM
New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice. KenR7A Electrical 22 01-05-2011 10:42 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Central Air Trips Breaker RobSmith HVAC 6 08-05-2008 10:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts